Montana State Legislature

Senate Select Committee on Judicial Oversight and Reform

Public Comment Form       Remote Participation Form        Sign Up For Email Notifications


Council meetings are open to the public.

All meetings are streamed and archived under the "Watch & Listen" tab of the site.


June 12-13, 2024

9:00 a.m.

Montana Capitol Room 137 and Zoom

Helena, MT

Tentative  Agenda (as of 6/6/2024)


June 12, 2024

Overview of Marbury v. Madison

Bill Litigation Materials

Enacted Legislation Regarding Court Rules of Procedures and Article VII, Section 2, of the MT Constitution

Overview of Legal Review Notes, Amendments with Legal Challenges, and Litigation Relating to the 2021 and 2023 Sessions, Including SB 442 (2023)

June 13, 2024

Overview of Court Opinions on Ballot Initiatives (Legislative and Citizen)


  • TBD

Voting Members

  • Senate President Jason Ellsworth, R-Hamilton (Chair)
  • Senate Majority Whip Barry Usher, R-Yellowstone/Musselshell (Vice Chair)
  • Senate Majority Leader Steve Fitzpatrick, R-Great Falls
  • Senate Majority Whip Tom McGillvray, R-Billings
  • Senate Majority Whip Steve Hinebauch, R-Wibaux
  • Sen. Wendy McKamey, R-Great Falls
  • Sen. Carl Glimm, R-Kila
  • Sen. Chris Friedel, R-Billings
  • Sen. Mark Noland, R-Bigfork
  • Sen. Daniel Emrich, R-Great Falls
  • Sen. Jen Gross, D-Billings
  • Sen. Shane Morigeau, D-Missoula
  • Sen. Mary Ann Dunwell, D-Helena
  • Sen. Janet Ellis, D-Helena
  • Sen. Andrea Olsen, D-Missoula

Non-voting Members

  • House Majority Leader Sue Vinton, R-Billings
  • Rep. Lyn Hellegaard, R-Missoula
  • Rep. Fiona Nave, R-Columbus
  • Andrew Billstein, Billings, Public Member
  • Joan Mell, Hamilton, Public Member
  • Jim Ramlow, Whitefish, Public Member


  • Jerry Howe, Executive Director, Legislative Services Division
  • Rachel Weiss, Research Director, Legislative Services Division

Past Meetings and Materials:

decorative leaves element