

# Education and Local Government Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

## 60th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS KIM GILLAN BOB HAWKS SAM KITZENBERG RICK LAIBLE DAVE LEWIS JIM PETERSON HOUSE MEMBERS GARY BRANAE WANDA GRINDE ROBIN HAMILTON BOB LAKE BILL NOONEY JOHN WARD COMMITTEE STAFF

CASEY BARRS, Lead Staff LEANNE HEISEL, Research Analyst EDDYE MCCLURE, Staff Attorney FONG HOM, Secretary ALAN PEURA, Fiscal Analyst

02/08/08

## Education and Local Government Interim Committee

State Capitol Room 137 Friday, March 14, 2008 Helena, Montana

8:30	Call to order, Chairman Laible Approve full ELG committee minutes
8:30	Recap of the Thursday subcommittee meetings √ K-12 Subcommittee - Sen. Kitzenberg √ PEPB Subcommittee - Sen. Hawks
9:10	MQEC court filing √ Eddye McClure, Legal staff, Legislative Services Division
9:20	Antiquated statutes √ Eddye McClure, Legal staff, Legislative Services Division
9:30	Administrative efficiencies √ Casey Barrs, Staff, Legislative Services Division √ Jim Standaert, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division √ Darrell Rud, Executive Director, School Administrators of Montana √ Public comment
10:45	Break
11:00	Funding adjustments for small, remote, or shrinking schools √ Casey Barrs, Staff, Legislative Services Division √ Jim Standaert, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division √ Public comment
12:15	Lunch

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • DAVID D. BOHYER, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • GREGORY J. PETESCH, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • HENRY TRENK, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE



## Education and Local Government Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

### 60th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS KIM GILLAN BOB HAWKS SAM KITZENBERG RICK LAIBLE DAVE LEWIS JIM PETERSON HOUSE MEMBERS GARY BRANAE WANDA GRINDE ROBIN HAMILTON BOB LAKE BILL NOONEY JOHN WARD

#### COMMITTEE STAFF CASEY BARRS, Lead Staff LEANNE HEISEL, Research Analyst EDDYE MCCLURE, Staff Attorney FONG HOM, Secretary ALAN PEURA, Fiscal Analyst

# 1:30 Taxation and school funding √ Jeff Martin, Staff, Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee, Legislative Services Division 2:00 Distance learning √ Casey Barrs, Staff, Legislative Services Division √ Tyler Trevor, Associate Commissioner for Research, Technology & Communication, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education √ Martin Horejsi, Asst. Professor of Instructional Technology, University of Montana (speaking re: the Montana Schools e-Learning Consortium) √ Steve Meloy, Executive Secretary, Board of Public Education 3:30 Scholarship plans √ Casey Barrs, Staff, Legislative Services Division

4:00 Public comment

#### 4:30 Instruction to staff & Adjourn

CL0425 8057cbsb.doc

For more information Contact Casey Barrs at (406) 444-3957 or cbarrs@mt.gov