

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

 Commission members:

 Janine Pease Pretty On Top
 Joe Lamson

 Presiding Officer
 612'

 P.O. Box 447
 Hele

 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Dean Jellison 116 Crestline Ave. Kalispell, MT 59901 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attomey

SENATE DISTRICTS AND ASSIGNMENT OF HOLDOVER SENATORS Adopted November 19, 2002 and December 6, 2002

The 25 members of the senate who were elected in 2002 are assigned a senate district to represent upon the expiration of the current districts after 2003-04 and after the implementation of the new districts for the 2004 election and for the composition of the 2005 Legislature. The 25 senators whose names do not appear on this list will have the opportunity to choose which district that they may be eligible to run in dependent upon term limits and residency requirements.

New Senate District #	New House District Pairings	Existing Senate District comparison	Holdover Senator Assignments (current SD#)
1	1-2 (1BC)	43/37/38	Roush (43)
2	3-14 (2C)	44/45/43	Black (44)
3	4-6		
4	5-12		Tropila (24)
5	11-13		Mangan (23)
6	9-10 (5B)		Schmidt (21)
7	7-8		
8	15-16 (8C)	46/45	Hanson(46)
9	18-22 (9B)		
10	17-21		
11	19-20		Tester (45)
12	23-24		
13	25-26	2/1	Bales (1)
14	29-30 (12B 13C)	3	
15	28-31		

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: LOIS MENZIES, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • DAVID D. BOHYER, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • GREGORY J. PETESCH, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • HENRY TRENK, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE

New Senate District #	New House District Pairings	Existing Senate District comparison	Holdover Senator Assignments (current SD#)
16	27-32		Gebhardt (4)
17	33-34 (16B)	6	
18	35-36	5/7	Cromley (9)
19	37-38		
20	39-40		
21	41-42	5/10	Bohlinger (7)
22	43-44 (22C)	11	McGee (11)
23	45-46 (22B 23C)	12	Story (12)
24	47-48 (23B 24C)	13	Esp (13)
25	51-54	14	Wheat (14)
26	52-53	15	
27	56-50	14/16	
28	57-55	16	Perry (16)
29	58-59 (29C 33B)		
30	60-61 (34B)		
31	62-63 (35B)		
32	64-65 (32C)		Grimes (20)
33	66-67 (33C)	26	Cooney (26)
34	68-69 (34C)	27/28	
35	49-70		Anderson (28)
36	71-72 (36BC)	29	
37	73-74 (37BC)	30	Laible (30)
38	75-76 (38BC)	31/30	
39	77-78	29/35	

New Senate District #	New House District Pairings	Existing Senate District comparison	Holdover Senator Assignments (current SD#)
40	79-80 (40B)	32/33	
41	81-82 (41B)	34/32/21	Squires (34)
42	83-84		Ellingson (33)
43	85-86 (42BC)		
44	87-88 (44BC)	36	
45	89-90 (45BC)	37	
46	91-92 (46C)	38	Keenan (38)
47	93-94 (48C)	39	Barkus (48)
48	95-98		
49	97-96	40	
50	99-100 (50C 48B)	41	Curtis (41)