

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

Commission members: Janine Pease Pretty On Top Presiding Officer P.O. Box 447 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

Joe Lamson 612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Gregory Barkus PO Box 2647 Kalispell, MT 59903 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attorney

REDISTRICTING NEWS

March 15, 2002 Vol. 1, Number 6

Senator Fred Thomas, Senate Majority Leader, has appointed Dean Jellison, an attorney from Kalispell, to replace Greg Barkus as the Commissioner from a district containing Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, and Ravalli Counties. The appointment will be effective April 1, 2002. Commissioner Barkus submitted his resignation in order to file to run for Senate District 39.

The Commission will meet for its seventh and eighth public hearings on March 27 in Billings and March 28 in Crow Agency. Testimony will be accepted for both the Southeast and Southcentral Regions at both hearings. Written testimony will be accepted through April 18, 2002.

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 27, 2002 LINCOLN CENTER BOARD ROOM (Use north entrance and go through courtyard) 415 NORTH 30TH BILLINGS

3:00 p.m. Executive Session (public welcome, but no testimony will be taken at this time)

THURSDAY, MARCH 28, 2002 MULTI-PURPOSE AND CONFERENCE ROOM (Exit 510) CROW AGENCY

1:00 p.m. Public Hearing

7:00 p.m. Public Hearing

A mailing for the Southcentral Region has been sent with maps, descriptions, and staff analysis to the Clerk and Recorders, Central Committees, and Legislators in the affected regions. The Southeast Region maps were sent last month. The Commission will tentatively adopt plans for the North-central and Northeast Regions at its March 27 Executive Session in Billings. The next meetings are tentatively scheduled in late April or early May in Baseman, Butte, and Helena. The next region to receive staff visits will be counties in Southwest Montana.

Regional maps of proposals for legislative districts for the North-central, Northeast, and Southeast Regions are available through the "Redistricting" link on the legislative website. The South-central Region maps should be available shortly.

Please send all written testimony and correspondence to the Destructing and Apportionment Commission, PO Box 201706, Helena MT 59620. It will be copied and sent to each Commissioner and the originals retained for the Commission's file. Please check the Commission's website for more information at the "Redistricting" link on the Legislative Branch website at *leg.mt.gov*. For more information, contact Susan Byorth Fox, (406) 444-3064 or sfox@mt.gov.



Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

Commission members: Janine Pease Pretty On Top Presiding Officer P.O. Box 447 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

Joe Lamson 612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Gregory Barkus PO Box 2647 Kalispell, MT 59903 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attorney

Cl2255 2073sfob.