MEMBERSHIP HISTORY

The Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission was appointed during the 1999 Legislature, according to the process set forth in 5-1-102, MCA.

- **5-1-102. Composition of commission.** (1) The majority and minority leaders of each house shall each designate one commissioner. A commissioner must be appointed from each district listed in subsection (2). The majority leader in the senate has first choice of the district from which the majority leader will select a commissioner, and the majority leader of the house has second choice. Within 20 days after their designation, the four commissioners shall select the fifth member, who shall serve as the presiding officer of the commission. If the four members fail to select the fifth member within the time prescribed, a majority of the supreme court shall select the fifth member.
 - (2) The commission districts are the following counties:
 - (a) District 1: Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, and Ravalli;
- (b) District 2: Lewis and Clark, Powell, Granite, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Meagher, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, and Park;
- (c) District 3: Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Richland, McCone, Garfield, Petroleum, Fergus, Judith Basin, Cascade, Chouteau, Teton, and Pondera; and
- (d) District 4: Wheatland, Golden Valley, Musselshell, Treasure, Rosebud, Custer, Prairie, Dawson, Wibaux, Fallon, Carter, Powder River, Big Horn, Yellowstone, Carbon, Stillwater, and Sweet Grass.
- Senate Majority Leader John Harp appointed Elaine Sliter, Somers, to represent District 1.
- House Majority Leader Hal Grinde appointed Jack Rehberg, Billings, to represent District 4.
- Senate Minority Leader Steve Doherty appointed Sheila Rice, Great Falls, to represent District 3.
- House Minority Leader Emily Swanson appointed Joe Lamson, Helena, to represent District 4.

The 4 members were unable to select a presiding officer and therefore Janine Pease Pretty On Top, Lodge Grass, was appointed Presiding Officer by a unanimous decision of the Montana Supreme Court on August 3, 1999.

Elaine Sliter, originally appointed to the Commission in 1999, subsequently resigned from the Commission to accept an appointment to fill the legislative seat vacated by the death of her husband, Representative Paul Sliter. Her resignation became effective on September 7, 2001. Senator Fred Thomas, Senate Majority Leader, appointed Gregory D. Barkus, of Kalispell, on October 11, 2001, to represent District 1.

Greg Barkus resigned from the Commission effective April 1, 2002, to run for the Montana Senate District 39. Senator Fred Thomas appointed Dean Jellison, of Kalispell as his replacement for District 1.