

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

Commission members: Janine Pease Pretty On Top Presiding Officer P.O. Box 447 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

Joe Lamson 612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Elaine Sliter P.O. Box 118 Somers, MT 59932 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Researcher Analyst John MacMaster Attorney

April 18, 2001

The Honorable Bob Brown Secretary of State State Capitol Helena, Montana 59620

Dear Secretary of State Brown:

The Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission has completed its work relating to congressional redistricting pursuant to Article V, section 14(3), of The Constitution of the State of Montana.

On January 16, 2001, the Clerk of the House of Representatives of the United States, Jeff Trandahl, certified that the State of Montana is entitled to one representative in the House of Representatives of the Congress of the United States in the 108th Congress and each Congress thereafter until a subsequent reapportionment.

On March 21, 2001, the Montana Legislative Services Division received the P.L. 94-171 final census population data, which triggered the 90-day period within which the Commission must develop and file a final congressional plan pursuant to Article V, section 14, of the Montana Constitution. The Commission held a public hearing on the congressional redistricting plan on April 18, 2001, as required pursuant to 5-1-108, MCA.

The Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission has met its constitutional and statutory requirements for congressional redistricting and respectfully files its final plan as follows:

Janine Pease Pretty On Top, Presiding Officer

Jack D. Rehberg, Commissioner

Sheila Rice, Commissioner

The State of Montana, in its entirety, comprises one congressional district.

Joe Lamson, Commissioner