

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

 Commission members:

 Janine Pease Pretty On Top
 Joe Lamson

 Presiding Officer
 612'

 P.O. Box 447
 Hele

 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Dean Jellison 116 Crestline Ave. Kalispell, MT 59901 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attorney

REDISTRICTING NEWS

November 26, 2002 Vol. 1, Number 13

The Commission met on November 19, 2002, regarding pairing of the 100 house districts into 50 senate districts. The Commission adopted Option A, as amended. The sole amendment was to reassign Senator Perry to new senate district 28.

The Commission will hold the statutorily required hearing on the tentatively adopted redistricting plan of 100 house districts and 50 senate districts on December 6, 2002.

Friday, December 6, 2002 State Capitol, Room 303 (Old Supreme Court Chambers) 10:00 a.m.

Amendments proposed to date and prepared for the Commission include: Powder River County (County Commissioners (2), Sen. Bales (1)); Blaine County (County Commissioners); Powell and Deer Lodge Counties (Lord/Martin/Anderson); Sanders County (County Commissioners); and Sweet Grass and Park Counties (Rep. Esp/Sen. Grosfield). (Posted to webpage).

The Commission will be accepting public testimony and making its final decisions before presenting the plan to the Legislature by the 10th Legislative day, January 16, 2003. If you wish to submit written testimony prior to the December 6 meeting, please send your correspondence c/o Susan Fox who will assure that the Commission members each receive a copy and the original will be maintained in the permanent file.

After the Commission has adopted the entire plan on December 6, the plan will be then submitted to the Legislature by the 10th legislative day and the Legislature has 30 days to comment. The Commission then has 30 days to finalize the plan and submit it to the Secretary of State, at which time it will become law. These districts will be in effect for the 2004 election.

Please send all written correspondence to the Districting and Apportionment Commission, PO Box 201706, Helena MT 59620, or to <u>sfox@mt.gov</u>. It will be copied and sent to each Commissioner and the originals retained for the Commission's file. For more information, visit the redistricting home page at the Legislative Branch website **http://leg.mt.gov**/ or contact Susan Byorth Fox at (406)444-3597.



Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

 Commission members:

 Janine Pease Pretty On Top
 Joe Lamson

 Presiding Officer
 612'

 P.O. Box 447
 Hele

 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Dean Jellison 116 Crestline Ave. Kalispell, MT 59901 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attorney

The Legislature's website has been updated! To find the Districting and Apportionment Commission's webpage, please visit http://leg.mt.gov and under "Committees" in the left column, click on "Interim" and then find the "Districting and Apportionment Commission". All of the same information is there and will be updated as the plan proceeds.