

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

 Commission members:

 Janine Pease Pretty On Top
 Joe Lamson

 Presiding Officer
 612'

 P.O. Box 447
 Hele

 Lodge Grass, MT 59050

612 Touchstone Circle Helena, MT 59601 Jack D. Rehberg 2922 Glenwood Lane Billings, MT 59102 Sheila Rice 913 3rd Ave. Great Falls, MT 59401 Dean Jellison 116 Crestline Ave. Kalispell, MT 59901 Staff: Susan Byorth Fox Research Analyst John MacMaster Attomey

REDISTRICTING NEWS

January 6, 2003 Vol. 1, Number 15

The Commission presented the plan to the Legislature on January 6, 2003. The Legislature has 30 days to submit its recommendations to the Commission (by February 5, 2003). The Commission then has 30 days to finalize the plan and submit it to the Secretary of State, at which time it will become law. These districts will be in effect for the 2004 election.

Please send all written correspondence to the Districting and Apportionment Commission, PO Box 201706, Helena MT 59620, or to <u>sfox@mt.gov</u>. It will be copied and sent to each Commissioner and the originals retained for the Commission's file. For more information, visit the redistricting home page at the Legislative Branch website **http://leg.mt.gov**/ or contact Susan Byorth Fox at (406)444-3597.

The Legislature's website has been updated! To find the Districting and Apportionment Commission's webpage, please visit http://leg.mt.gov and under "Committees" in the left column, click on "Interim" and then find the "Districting and Apportionment Commission". Information will be updated as the plan proceeds.