

Economic Affairs Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

59th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JOHN BRUEGGEMAN
VICKI COCCHIARELLA
KEN HANSEN
DONALD STEINBEISSER

HOUSE MEMBERS DAVE GALLIK JIM KEANE TOM MCGILLVRAY MIKE MILBURN COMMITTEE STAFF
PATRICIA MURDO, Lead Staff
BART CAMPBELL, Staff Attorney
DAWN FIELD, Secretary

DRAFT Agenda for SJR 38 Work Group

(as of July 27, 2005)

August 10, 2005, 9:00 A.M., Room 102, State Capitol, Helena MT

(All agenda times are approximate)

9:00 a.m. --Call to order, Pat Murdo (EAIC staff)

--Review agenda

--Comment on federal preemption, state sovereignty concerns - or why we're here

--Introduction of participants

9:15 a.m. Overview of current state, federal legislation regarding identity theft (powerpoint

presentation -- to be made available online)

-- Cort Jensen, deputy attorney general for consumer affairs

-- Department of Justice members

9:45 a.m. Real ID Act of 2005 -- or how advance knowledge of federal legislation can help states

-- Dean Roberts, Motor Vehicle Division

10:00 a.m. Presentations from Interested Parties (approximately 10 minutes each -- please do not

reiterate in-depth on already-made points) current list = a little more than 2.5 hours

--AARP

--Banks

--Chamber of Commerce

-- Credit Reporting Groups

--Credit Unions

--Government IT

--Government, Other

-- Hospitals and Physician Offices

--Independent Business

--Insurance -- Companies

--Insurance -- Regulator

--IT, Other

--Lawyers - Defense

--Lawyers - Plaintiff

--Retailers

--Telecommunications

12:30 p.m. Public Comment (anyone else?)

12:40 p.m. Discussion of Overview Topics, Presentation for Economic Affairs November 4 meeting

Proposed National Speakers

Assignment of Tasks

1:00 p.m. Future Work Group Dates and Adjournment