

Montana Districting and **Apportionment Commission**

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

Commission members: Jim Regnier Presiding Officer P O Box 299 Lakeside, MT 59922

Jon Bennion 89 Whitetail Clancy, MT 59634 Joe Lamson 612 Touchstone Court Helena, MT 59601 Pat Smith 405 South First West Missoula, MT 59801 Linda Vaughey 2505 Southridge Drive Helena, MT 59601 Staff:
Rachel Weiss
Research Analyst
Joe Kolman
Research Analyst
Lisa Mecklenberg-Jackson
Attorney
Dawn Field
Secretary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Rachel Weiss, 406-444-5367

DISTRICTING AND APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION TO MEET

HELENA -- The recently appointed Districting and Apportionment Commission will meet September 24 for the first time with all five members of the Commission present.

Four commissioners were chosen in April by legislative leaders; a fifth -- Presiding Officer Jim Regnier -- was chosen in May by the state Supreme Court.

The Commission will hear a brief presentation on the Census, a short update on the selection process for redistricting software, and consider a work plan for the next four years.

The meeting will be held in Room 137 of the Capitol at 1:30 p.m. The public is invited to attend and will have two opportunities to provide public comment.

A meeting agenda and other materials are available on the Commission's web site, leg.mt.gov/districting.

The members of the Commission are:

Jim Regnier, Presiding Officer, appointed by the Montana Supreme Court; Linda Vaughey, appointed by Senate Majority Leader Jim Peterson; Joe Lamson, appointed by House Majority Leader Margarett Campbell; Pat Smith, appointed by Senate Minority Leader Carol Williams; and Jon Bennion, appointed by House Minority Leader Scott Sales.