Montana Code Annotated 2019



Part 22. County Officers in General

County Offices

7-4-2211. County offices. (1) All county officers, except justices of the peace as set forth in 3-10-101, must keep their offices at the county seat.

(2) (a) The sheriff, the county clerk, the clerk of the district court, the treasurer, the county attorney, the county auditor in counties in which that officer is maintained, and the county assessor shall keep their offices open for the transaction of business during the office hours determined by the governing body by resolution after a public hearing and only if consented to by any affected elected county officer, every day in the year except legal holidays and Saturdays.

(b) This subsection (2) does not apply to counties operating under the county manager plan.

History: (1)En. Sec. 4322, Pol. C. 1895; re-en. Sec. 2967, Rev. C. 1907; re-en. Sec. 4735, R.C.M. 1921; Cal. Pol. C. Sec. 4116; re-en. Sec. 4735, R.C.M 1935; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 276, L. 1974; Sec. 16-2413, R.C.M. 1947; (2)En. Sec. 4323, Pol. C. 1895; re-en. Sec. 2968, Rev. C. 1907; re-en. Sec. 4736, R.C.M. 1921; Cal. Pol. C. Sec. 4116; re-en. Sec. 4736, R.C.M. 1935; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 108, L. 1949; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 199, L. 1957; Sec. 16-2414, R.C.M. 1947; R.C.M. 1947, 16-2413, 16-2414(part); amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 216, L. 1995.