## Capitol Complex Advisory Council Report to the 63rd Montana Legislature November 2012

## Introduction

In 1997, the Montana Legislature enacted House Bill No. 123 (Chapter No. 476, Laws of 1997), an act creating the Capitol Complex Advisory Council (2-17-801, et al., MCA). This legislation was introduced at the request of the Department of Administration to establish a council to oversee the placement of art and memorials on the Capitol Complex and grounds.

The Capitol Complex Advisory Council consists of nine members:

- four legislators, two from each house, appointed every two years on a bipartisan basis;
- a public representative appointed by the Governor; and
- the director or the director's designee of each of the following agencies:
  - the Montana Historical Society;
  - the Montana Arts Council;
  - the Department of Administration; and
  - the Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks.

A list of the Council's current membership is contained in Appendix A.

The statutory duties and responsibilities assigned to the Council include:

- reviewing proposals for long-term displays or the naming of State buildings on the Capitol Complex;
- advising the Legislature on the long-term display of busts, statues, memorials, monuments, or art displays within the Capitol Complex, including the executive residence and the original governor's mansion;
- advising the Department of Administration on interior decoration of the Capitol;
- advising the Department of Administration on grounds maintenance and displays;
- advising the Department of Administration on policies governing maintenance and beautification of the Capitol, executive residence, and original governor's mansion; and
- advising the Department of Administration on establishing and maintaining a long-range master plan for the orderly development of the Capitol Complex.

In addition, the Council must report to the Legislature by November 15 of each year preceding a legislative session on requests that it has reviewed for naming buildings and for long-term placement of items in the Capitol or on the Capitol Complex grounds. The report must include a recommendation on whether reviewed requests meet certain statutory criteria. If a request meets the criteria, the Council must recommend a time frame during which the project should be authorized.

# Council Meetings in 2011 - 2012

In 2011, the 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislature passed SB 59 and SB 69 – An Act Providing for a Mural That Honors the History of Women as Community Builders, Amending Section 2-17-808, MCA; and An Act Naming the First Floor of the East Wing of the Capitol Building in Honor of Former Representative Francis Bardanouve; Amending Section 2-17-808, MCA – respectively.

The Capitol Complex Advisory Council met on December 14, 2011.

At the meeting held December 14, 2011, the Council:

- Finalized the details regarding the naming of the Frances Bardanouve wing in the Capitol
- Was introduced to the new staff person for the Council, Angie Gifford
- Selected a location for the Women's Mural east wall under the barrel vault on the third floor
- Formed the Women's Mural Subcommittee. Members of the Council serving on the subcommittee include:
  - Senator Lynda Moss
  - Representative Diane Sands
  - Representative Liz Bangerter
  - Liz Gans Montana Arts Council member
  - Denise King Montana Historical Society member

The full Council did not meet during 2012; however, the Women's Mural subcommittee met numerous times throughout the year.

At the writing of this report, the subcommittee:

- Wrote and advertised an Request for Qualifications (RFQ) for artists
- Finalized a budget
- Retained the expert services of Kim Hurtle of the Montana Arts Council to guide the subcommittee through the procurement and selection of art processes
- Selected an online proposal management service SlideRoom
- Created a donation and nomination form
- Created a selection committee members include:
  - Senator Lynda Moss
  - Representative Diane Sands
  - Representative Liz Bangerter
  - Tom O'Connell, State Architect
  - G.B. Carson, Art Evaluator/Collection Expert
  - o Carolyn Anderson, Montana Artist
  - Kirby Lambert, Art Historian
- Received 56 submissions from artists across the country
- Reviewed and are in the process of selecting the mural finalists

## Francis Bardanouve Memorial

In November 2010, the Council voted to support Senator David Wanzenried's proposal to commemorate Representative Francis Bardanouve's contributions to Montana by naming the First Floor East Wing of the Capitol in his honor. Senate Bill 69 passed both houses of the 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislature with bipartisan support.

On March 22, 2012, an installation ceremony attended by many of his family and former legislative colleagues was held to unveil a plaque memorializing Representative Bardanouve's major role in Montana's history.

## Department of Administration requests statutory change to the Council

At the request of the Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks (FWP), the Department of Administration drafted a bill requesting the removal of the FWP representative to the Council. As of July 2005, FWP transferred all decisions regarding the Capitol grounds to the Department of Administration, thereby negating the need to sit on the Council.

## Summary

Minutes of all Council meetings are available at <u>ccac.mt.gov</u>.

Revised October 31, 2012

### APPENDIX A CAPITOL COMPLEX ADVISORY COUNCIL MEMBERS Updated September 2012

## Legislative Members

### **Senator Lynda Moss**

552 Highland Park Drive Billings, MT 59102-1046 Ph: 406-252-7318 lyndamoss@imt.net

Senator Terry Murphy 893 Boulder Cutoff Road Cardwell, MT 59721-9605 Ph: 406-285-6937 murphter5@yahoo.com

## **Representative Diane Sands**

4487 Nicole Court Missoula, MT 59803-2791 Ph: 406-251-2001 hdsands@aol.com

## **Representative Liz Bangerter**

3419 Blackhawk Street Helena, MT 59602-0550 Ph: 406-442-6071 liz@lizb4house.com

## Public and State Agency Members

## Ms. Janet R. Kelly, Presiding Officer

Montana Department of Administration P.O. Box 200101 Helena, MT 59620-0101 Ph: 444-3033 jakelly@mt.gov

### Mr. Chas Van Genderen

Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks P.O. Box 200701 Helena, MT 59620-0701 Ph: 444-3750 <u>cvangenderen@mt.gov</u>

## Ms. Sandi Miller

1012 Livingston Avenue Helena, MT 59601 Ph: 866-449-3468 sandi@egovmt.com

### Ms. Liz Gans Montana Arts Council 710 Harrison Avenue Helena, MT 59601 Ph: 406-461-4342 Igans@mt.net

# Ms. Denise King

Montana Historical Society 222 North Roberts P.O. Box 201201 Helena, MT 59620-1201 Ph: 444-5485 dking@mt.gov