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AIR QUALITY PERMITS: STATE

1. Types of Activities Regulated

An air quality permit and/or an air quality operating permit are required from the Montana
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for the construction, installation, and operation
of equipment or facilities that may cause or contribute to air pollution. Exceptions include
residential heating units, motor vehicles, trains, aircraft, equipment for road construction
(except stationary sources—permits are required for temporary crushers and asphalt
plants), agricultural activity or equipment associated with the use of agricultural land,
emergency equipment, forestry equipment used for forestry practices that remain in a
single location for less than 12 months, and other sources which emit less than specified
amounts. A city or county may administer its own air quality permit program in lieu of part
or all of the DEQ's air quality permit program if the program is approved by the Montana
Board of Environmental Review (BER).

Statute: 75-2-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Clean Air Act)

Rule: ARM 17.8.740, et seq. and 17.8.1201, et seq.

Contact: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Health Department

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Air Resources Management Bureau

2. Application Requirements

Applicants for air quality permits must file an application with the DEQ at least 180 days
before construction begins, or if construction is not required, at least 120 days before
installation, alteration or use of the facility begins.

Owners and operators of registration-eligible oil and gas wells must register the facilities
within 60 days after the date the well is completed. During operation, the facilities must stay
within the emission limits described in DEQ rules.

Applicants for air quality operating permits for new major sources (as defined by DEQ rule)
must submit operating permit applications within 12 months after beginning operation.
Applicants required to obtain an operating permit revision must submit operating permit
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applications within 12 months after beginning operation unless an existing operating permit
would prohibit the construction or change in operation. If an existing operating permit would
prohibit the construction or change in operation, the applicant must obtain the permit
revision before beginning operation. Existing facilities are required to submit an application
within 12 months of becoming subject to the operating permit program.

Statute: 75-2-211, MCA (air quality permit)
75-2-217, MCA (operating permit)

Rule: ARM 17.8.748 and 17.8.1205

3. Permitting Procedures

A. Air Quality Permit

1) The application for an air quality permit is not considered filed until all filing
requirements are completed. However, if the DEQ fails to notify the applicant
within 30 days that an application is incomplete, the application is considered
complete.

2) The applicant must post a public notice in a newspaper of general circulation
in the area of the proposed facility within 10 days before or after submitting
the application. The DEQ will supply the form of the notice.

3) Within 40 days after receipt of the complete and filed application, the DEQ
makes a preliminary determination on whether the permit should be issued,
issued with conditions, or denied. The department must notify both the
applicant and the members of the public who requested notification of its
preliminary determination. There is a 15 day comment period after the
preliminary determination is issued for most minor source permits. There is
a 30 day public comment period after the preliminary determination is issued
for permits that are subject to certain federal air permitting provisions (see 42
U.S.C. 7475, 42 U.S.C. 7503 and 42 U.S.C. 7661), for incinerators (see pp.
39 and 156) and for permits that require an Environmental Impact Statement
(EIS), (see MONTANA ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ACT, p. 131). See
timelines in the table on the following page.

4) The DEQ has 60 days after a completed and filed application is submitted to
notify the applicant of its decision for most minor source permits. The DEQ
has 75 days after a completed and filed application is submitted to the
department to notify the applicant of its decision for permits that are subject
to certain federal air permitting provisions (see above), for incinerators and
for permits that require an EIS. Extensions may be granted under certain
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conditions by written agreement of the DEQ and the applicant. If an EIS is
required, final action must be taken within 180 days if the DEQ prepares the
EIS. See timelines in the table below.

Timeline for public comment and permit approval

Minor
Sources

Project is subject to
certain federal
provisions or is an
incinerator 

Project for
which an EIS
is prepared by
the DEQ

Projects for which an
EIS is prepared by
another agency or
under Title 82,
chapter 4, parts 1-3 

Public comment period
after preliminary
determination is issued

15 days 30 days 30 days 30 days

Time period for DEQ to
approve or deny the
permit

60 days 75 days 180 days 30 days after
issuance of the EIS

5) The applicant may appeal the DEQ's decision to the BER. Any person
adversely affected by the decision to approve or deny the application may
also appeal to the BER within 15 days of the DEQ's decision, upon affidavit,
explaining the grounds for the appeal.

For energy development projects, a request for a hearing must be filed within
30 days of the DEQ's decision and include an affidavit explaining the grounds
for the appeal. The person requesting a hearing may elect for the appeal to
be heard in District Court. This election must occur within 15 days of receipt
of the request for hearing with the BER and must be submitted to the BER.

6) The permit becomes final 15 days after the DEQ's decision unless a stay is
granted.

Statute: 75-2-211, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.8.740, et seq.

B. Operating Permit

Operating permits must be obtained for all new and existing major sources
of air pollution and are subject to the same completeness and appeal
procedures as air quality permits. The application for an operating permit
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requires more extensive public notification, including the requirement that the
applicant notify the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). In addition,
the DEQ must give notice to surrounding states of draft operating permit
issuance. Operating permits must be renewed every five years.

Statute: 75-2-218, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.8.1203-17.8.1207

4. Fees

The DEQ assesses an application fee and an operating fee from applicants and
permitholders to fund the air quality permitting program and to implement and enforce the
terms and conditions of the permit.

Statute: 75-2-220, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.8.501, et seq.

5. Criteria

An air quality permit to construct or operate a new or altered air pollution source cannot be
issued unless the source is able to comply with the standards, emission limitations, and
other rules adopted under the Montana Clean Air Act, the applicable regulations and
requirements of the federal Clean Air Act, and any applicable control strategy contained in
the Montana State Implementation Plan. The applicant must also demonstrate that the
source will not cause or contribute to a violation of a Montana or national ambient air quality
standard.

Rule: ARM 17.8.749

6. Additional Information

A. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD)

1) When a major new source of air pollution is proposed to be constructed or
modified in an area in compliance with ambient air quality standards, a more
rigorous review procedure may apply. The review may include one year of
pre-application baseline data, control technology review, air pollution impact
modeling, and other measures.
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2) The DEQ must: 1) advertise in a newspaper of general circulation in the air
quality control region affected by the proposed source that an application has
been received along with the DEQ's preliminary determination, the degree of
increment consumption expected from the source, how written comments
may be submitted, and how the DEQ's final decision may be appealed to the
BER; and 2) forward copies of the advertisement to the applicant, Region VIII
Administrator of the EPA, and to area officials and agencies affected by the
proposed construction. 

Rule: ARM 17.8.801, et seq.

B. New Source Review in Nonattainment Areas

Major new or modified sources of air pollution locating in or near areas that
are not attaining ambient air quality standards must meet additional
permitting criteria, including obtaining emission offsets and installing control
equipment that meets the lowest achievable emission rate (LAER).

Rule: ARM 17.8.901-17.8.906

C. Incinerators - Commercial Medical or Hazardous Waste

Commercial medical waste and commercial hazardous waste incinerators
have special requirements in addition to the permitting requirements under
the Montana Clean Air Act (see AIR QUALITY PERMITS, p. 35); and the
Montana Solid Waste Management Act (see SOLID WASTE - HAZARDOUS
WASTE, p. 156), Commercial medical waste and commercial hazardous
waste incinerators must achieve the lowest achievable emission rates as
identified by DEQ rules for dioxins, furans, heavy metals, and other
hazardous air pollutants to prevent risk to public health. The plan for a
commercial hazardous waste incinerator must include a scheme for the
cessation of burning if site-specific monitoring determines that inversion
conditions, as defined by DEQ rule, exist. If the facility is close to a populated
area, the department may require the owner or operator of an existing
commercial hazardous waste incinerator or an applicant for an air quality
permit for a commercial hazardous waste incinerator to provide telemetering
service to the DEQ with an immediate notification system activated when
emissions approach or exceed permitted limits. 

The definition of commercial medical waste incinerator does not include
hospital or medical facilities that primarily incinerate medical waste generated
onsite.
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A statement disclosing if the applicant has had a record of complaints and
convictions for the violation of environmental protection laws is required for
the issuance, transfer, or alteration of an air quality permit for a commercial
medical waste or commercial hazardous waste incinerator. The DEQ may
deny an application or impose conditions on a permit based on an applicant's
compliance history.

Statute: 75-2-230 through 75-2-233, MCA

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Air Resources Management Bureau
Waste and Underground Tank Management Bureau

D. Variances

A person may apply to the BER for an exemption from applicable rules
governing emissions. The variance may be issued if the BER finds there will
be no adverse impact to public health or safety and that compliance with the
rules would be an undue hardship on the applicant. The length of the
variance is at the BER's discretion and may be renewed. An applicant for a
variance must submit a sum of two percent of the cost of equipment needed
to bring the facility into compliance with the rule from which the exemption is
sought, but not less than $500 nor more than $80,000.

Statute: 75-2-212, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.8.120

AIR QUALITY PERMITS: FEDERAL

For information about air quality permits on reservation lands, contact the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency.

Contact: ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
Montana Office, Helena

GEOTHERMAL LEASES

Development of geothermal resources will generally require the appropriation of water (see
WATER APPROPRIATIONS - GROUND WATER, p. 196) and may require a Certificate
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of Compliance (see MAJOR FACILITY SITING ACT, p. 50). For general information,
contact the Montana Department of Environmental Quality.

GEOTHERMAL LEASES ON STATE LANDS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Board of Land Commissioners may lease state-owned lands, including the beds of
navigable streams and water bodies, for the purposes of prospecting, exploration, well
construction, or production of geothermal resources.

Statute: 77-4-101, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 36.25.401, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Minerals Management Bureau

2. Permitting Procedures

 1) A person applying for a geothermal lease on state lands must submit a
completed application to the Montana Department of Natural Resources and
Conservation. The required information is identified in the application and
must include an adequate description of the land. A water right may also be
required. See WATER APPROPRIATIONS, p. 196.

 2) When sufficient applications have been received to warrant a sale, or at the
director's discretion, a sale will be announced.

 3) The notice of the sale must be published in a geothermal trade journal or in
two newspapers of general circulation in Lewis and Clark County. Notice
must be published for four weeks preceding the sale date. The sale may be
offered by competitive bid.

 4) A minimum bond of $2,000 is required to protect the state's interest in the
resource.

 5) The term of a geothermal lease is 10 years. Compensation must be paid to
the surface lessee for damage to the surface or the lease holder's interest.
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Rule: ARM 36.25.404

3. Fees

The fee for a geothermal lease application is $25. Rental and royalty charges are
determined by the Board but are not less than $1 per acre, not less than 10 percent of the
amount or value of steam, heat, or energy produced and not more than five percent of any
byproduct.

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003, 36.25.404, and 36.25.406

HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES - COMMUNITY RIGHT TO KNOW

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The purpose of the federal Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act
(EPCRA—also known as SARA Title III) is to provide local governments and the public with
information about hazardous substances in their communities in order to encourage and
support facility planning in the event of an accidental release or spill.

Under the EPCRA, the governor of each state appoints a State Emergency Response
Commission (SERC), which in turn appoints Emergency Planning Districts and a Local
Emergency Planning Commission (LEPC) for each district. In Montana, each county is a
district, thus there are 56 districts and LEPCs. A person or facility with designated types
and quantities of hazardous or toxic substances must compile information on the chemicals
it uses, stores, and releases into the environment and provide this information to the SERC,
the LEPC, and the local fire department. The LEPCs receive and maintain information,
assist in facility planning, and develop a district plan to prepare for chemical emergencies.

Rule: 42 U.S.C. 11001, et seq., 40 C.F.R. § 301, et seq.

Contact: LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMISSION

U.S. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
Washington D.C.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Director’s Office

DEPARTMENT OF MILITARY AFFAIRS
Disaster and Emergency Services Division
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1   Waters of the United States includes essentially all surface waters such as all navigable waters and
their tributaries, all interstate waters and their tributaries, all wetlands adjacent to these waters, and all
impoundments of these waters.

HYDROELECTRIC POWER DEVELOPMENT

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Nonfederal hydroelectric power plants on navigable waters of the United States, those
which occupy federal land or utilize water power from a government dam, or those which,
under certain circumstances, affect the interest of interstate or foreign commerce, must be
licensed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). As a result, FERC is the
lead agency in the licensing of new hydropower facilities and in the re-licensing of existing
facilities. FERC, acting under the authority of the federal Power Act, as amended, and the
National Energy Policy Act of 2005, processes and evaluates the federal applications
required for all hydropower dams, diversions and other hydropower developments; reviews
and analyzes environmental impacts of hydropower projects and determines appropriate
mitigation and enhancement measures; and sets requirements governing the sale of the
hydropower generation at the wholesale level.

There are six primary subject areas where state regulation of hydroelectric power must be
considered in addition to the federal requirements under FERC. These areas (and the
responsible state agencies) are:

1) Water rights permits: contact the Montana Department of Natural Resources
and Conservation (DNRC), Water Rights Bureau, (see WATER
APPROPRIATIONS - SURFACE DIVERSIONS, p. 200).

2) A 310 permit for altering a perennial stream: contact the DNRC,
Conservation Districts Bureau or the local Conservation District supervisor
(see CONSERVATION DISTRICTS, p. 1).

3) Water quality certification under Section 401 of the federal Clean Water Act:
contact the Montana Department of Environmental Quality.

4) Fish and wildlife impact evaluation (no permit required): contact the Montana
Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Fish and Wildlife Division, Helena.

5) Hydropower projects on state land (see below).
6) Hydropower projects on state-owned dams (see below).

In addition, a 404 permit is required from the U.S. Department of the Army, Corps of
Engineers for any dredge and fill activity or other work affecting United State's waters1 or
wetlands. Contact the U.S. Department of the Army, Corps of Engineers, (see STREAM
BEDS - STREAM BANKS - WETLANDS, p. 10).

Statute: federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C., chapter 12 



44  COMMERCIAL - INDUSTRIAL - ENERGY

Contact: FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
Office of Hydropower Licensing
Washington D.C.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
Regional Office
Portland, Oregon

HYDROELECTRIC POWER DEVELOPMENT ON STATE LANDS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Board of Land Commissioners may grant leases for the construction and operation of
hydroelectric power sites on state lands to any person, corporation, or municipality. See
HYDROELECTRIC POWER DEVELOPMENT, above.

Statute: 77-4-201, et seq., MCA

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Real Estate Management Bureau

2. Application Requirements

An application must be presented to the Board for a lease of or license for a power site on
state lands. A preliminary examination of the proposed site's value for development is
required. If the investigation requires further proceedings, the Board must publish a notice
regarding the proposed lease or license for six weeks in two state newspapers, one of
which must be from the affected area. The Board, at its meeting on the proposed site, may
consider the original application along with any other filed applications. The Board has the
authority to reject any or all bids. Acceptance depends on which offer is considered to be
the most advantageous to the state. Bid preferences are given to municipalities. The term
of the lease cannot exceed 50 years.

Statute: 77-4-203 through 77-4-211, MCA
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HYDROELECTRIC POWER DEVELOPMENT AT STATE-OWNED DAMS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) may lease sites
at state water projects that it determines to be feasible for energy generation and in the
best interest of the state.

2. Application Procedures

1) The DNRC must study the economic and environmental feasibility of
construction and operation of a small-scale hydroelectric power generating
facility on each of its dams and periodically update the studies. If the DNRC
determines that hydroelectric generation at a state-owned dam is feasible
based on the study, the department must publish an advertisement soliciting
lease applications.

2) Following publication, individuals, public utilities, and electric cooperatives
have 180 days to submit applications to the DNRC. Applications must include
a statement of the capability of the applicant to achieve the annual production
output estimated by the DNRC, the estimated time to make the project
operational, the bid amount of the royalty, and other information the
department may request to assist in evaluating the application.

3) The DNRC will hold a hearing to examine all applications and must decide
whether to accept or reject applications within 180 days after the close of the
application period.

4) The DNRC is authorized to hold any federal license, permit or exemption on
a project at the department's discretion.

5) The duration of the lease may not exceed the term of the federal permits and
may in no case exceed 55 years.

6) If no acceptable applications are received, the DNRC may reject all bids and
proceed to develop the hydroelectric generation facility.

Statute: 85-1-501 through 85-1-514, MCA

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Water Resources Division
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INDOOR EMISSIONS - EMPLOYEE HEALTH AND SAFETY

ASBESTOS CONTROL

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues asbestos project permits,
asbestos facility permits, inspects asbestos projects, accredits persons engaged in
asbestos-related work, approves and audits asbestos training course providers, and
administers the asbestos National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
(NESHAP).

Statute: 75-2-501, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 17.74.301, 17.74.343, 17.74.350-17.74.372, and 17.74.401-
17.74.403

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Waste and Underground Tank Management Bureau

2. Permitting Requirements and Procedures

1) Any person impacting three square or linear feet of regulated asbestos
containing material must be accredited by the state and operating under a
special permit issued by the DEQ.

2) A person may not initiate an asbestos project without obtaining an asbestos
project permit from the DEQ. Application materials include a completed,
signed Montana Asbestos Project Permit Application and NESHAP
Demolition/Renovation Notification form. Applicants must also pay the
required permit fee.

3) The owner or operator of a facility may apply to the DEQ, under certain
conditions, for an annual asbestos project permit. An annual asbestos project
permit authorizes a facility to conduct asbestos projects within the confines
of the facility's controlled area during the permit period. The application must
include 1) a description of the facility and the asbestos work that will be
performed over the year, 2) an asbestos health and safety plan, 3) a list of
accredited asbestos contractor/supervisors and workers, 4) a signed
statement that the asbestos-containing materials will be properly removed,
transported, and disposed of in accordance with state and federal asbestos
regulations, and 5) the required annual permit application fee.
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Statute: 75-2-503, 75-2-504, and 75-2-511, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.74.353-17.74.360, and 17.74.401

3. Accreditation Requirements

A person seeking accreditation as an asbestos inspector, planner, project designer,
contractor/supervisor, or a worker must submit a properly completed application form,
asbestos training course certificate and the applicable fee to the DEQ.

Statute: 75-2-502 and 75-2-511, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.74.353, 17.74.362, 17.74.363, and 17.74.402 

4. Asbestos Training Courses

Asbestos training course providers must be approved by the DEQ and audited by the
department on a regular basis. Asbestos training course providers must apply to become
approved by submitting 1) a training course application, 2) a course curriculum with sample
training certificate, 3) a list of instructors, 4) example examinations, 5) a course schedule
and 6) the applicable fee. 

Statute: 75-2-511, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.74.364-17.74.368 and 17.74.403 

5. Fees

Asbestos project permit fees are based on 10 percent of the contract volume (as defined
in ARM 17.74.401(2)). All persons seeking accreditation or an application renewal for an
asbestos-related occupation who have been trained by a Montana-approved asbestos
training course provider must pay a $170 fee, except for asbestos workers who are
assessed a $45 fee. A surcharge of $35 is assessed to those persons who submit a
training course certificate from a non-Montana approved asbestos training course provider
(see ARM 17.74.402), except for asbestos workers who are assessed a $15 surcharge.
Asbestos training course approval and audit fees are based on the course provided (see
ARM 17.74.403). Annual asbestos permits cost $2,000 and annual permit amendments
cost $600. 

Statute: 75-2-503 and 75-2-511, MCA
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Rule: ARM 17.74.401-17.74.403

6. Additional Information

National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP)

As a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency-delegated program, the DEQ
administers portions of the asbestos NESHAP, which governs building demolition
and renovation activities, inspections for asbestos prior to demolition/renovation,
notification of building demolition renovation activities, disposal of asbestos waste,
and control of asbestos emissions.

EMPLOYEE HEALTH AND SAFETY

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has the authority to regulate health
and safety hazards in work places that are under the jurisdiction of state and local
governments. The federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulates
noise and exposure to certain hazardous chemicals in all privately owned work places.

Statute: 50-71-111, MCA 

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
Employment Relations Division
Safety Bureau

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Occupational Safety and Health Administration

RADIATION CONTROL

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission licenses users of byproduct materials, source
materials, and special nuclear materials in Montana. A number of record-keeping and
handling requirements apply.

The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) has statutory
authority to register and regulate machine sources of ionizing radiation (i.e., x-rays,
accelerators, etc.). Registration of these machines is required of the owner after acquisition
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of the machine and prior to its use. Registration forms are available from the DPHHS or
machines may be registered online at https://app.mt.gov/radio. A number of record-keeping
and use requirements also apply.

In addition, the DPHHS has statutory authority to license users of naturally occurring and
electronically produced radionuclides but does not operate a licensing program at this time.

Statute: 50-79-201, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 37.14.301, 37.14.302, 37.14.306, 37.14.307, and 37.14.501, et
seq.

Contact: NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Quality Assurance Division
Licensure Bureau

RADON CONTROL

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Prior to selling any inhabitable property, the seller or their agent must provide a designated
disclosure statement (see 75-3-606, MCA) alerting the buyer to the existence of naturally
occurring radon gas in some buildings in Montana and the associated health risks.
Whenever a seller knows that a building has been tested for radon gas, the seller must
provide the buyer with a result of the test and evidence of any subsequent mitigation or
testing.

A person who wishes to be publicly listed by the Montana Department of Environmental
Quality in a radon-related occupation must pass a proficiency examination administered
by the National Environmental Health Association's National Radon Proficiency Program.

 Statute: 75-3-601, et seq., MCA (Montana Radon Control Act)

Rule: ARM 24.210.641(5)(x)

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Planning, Prevention and Assistance Division
Energy and Pollution Prevention Bureau
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
Business Standards Division
Board of Realty Regulation

U.S. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
Regional Office, Denver, CO

MAJOR FACILITY SITING

1. Types of Activities Regulated

A Certificate of Compliance is required from the Montana Department of Environmental
Quality (DEQ) for certain major electric transmission line and large oil, natural gas, and coal
slurry pipeline facilities or large facilities that utilize geothermal resources. Associated
facilities such as transportation links, pipeline pump stations, and other facilities associated
with the delivery of energy are included. Prior to certification, the applicant must receive the
necessary permits from the DEQ for air emissions; wastewater discharges; the generation,
transportation, storage, or disposal of hazardous wastes; and other relevant permits
administered by the DEQ. Special procedures apply to large hydroelectric and interstate
natural gas pipeline facilities also subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission

Statute: 75-20-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Major Facility Siting Act)

Rule: ARM 17.20.301-17.20.303

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Environmental Management Bureau

2. Application Requirements

Applications for a certificate under the Montana Major Facility Siting Act (MFSA) must be
filed with the DEQ. The information required varies according to the size and type of the
facility, but generally includes a description of the proposed facility and its location, baseline
data for proposed sites, and alternate site information.

Statute: 75-20-211, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.20.801-17.20.807
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3. Permitting Procedures

1) The DEQ must notify an applicant within 30 days that the application is either
complete or incomplete. If an application is resubmitted, the DEQ then has
15 days to review the information and notify the applicant that the application
is complete and accepted or is not complete and accepted. 

2) For projects that do not cross federal lands, within nine months following the
acceptance of a complete application, the DEQ must issue a report that
includes the department’s studies, evaluations, recommendations, customer
fiscal impact analysis, if required under 69-2-216, MCA, and other relevant
documents. An Environmental Impact Statement or analysis may be included
if there is compelling evidence that the facility construction and operation
would have adverse environmental impacts (see MONTANA
ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ACT, p. 131). During the environmental review
process, the DEQ must designate a one-mile-wide facility siting corridor
along the facility route for certain facilities and exempt future siting
modifications within the corridor from MEPA review if the conditions in 75-20-
303(6), MCA, are met. For a facility that is unlikely to result in adverse
environmental impacts or a high level of public concern, the DEQ's decision
must be returned in 90 days. Before issuing a decision, the DEQ will provide
an opportunity for public review and comment.

3) Construction of a geothermal facility must begin within six years from the
date of certification. Linear facilities must be completed within 10 years—
except for transmission lines less than 30 miles in length, which must be
completed within five years.

4) The DEQ's decision may be appealed to the Board of Environmental Review.
Decisions of the Board may be appealed to a state District Court under the
contested case provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedures Act
(see MAPA, p. 130).

Statute: 75-20-216, 75-20-219, 75-20-223, 75-20-231, 75-20-301, 75-20-303,
75-20-304, and 75-20-406, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.4.501

4. Fees

The applicant for a certificate under the MFSA is required to deposit a filing fee based on
the estimated cost of the project in an earmarked revenue fund for use by the DEQ to
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administer the Act. A fee schedule is listed in the statute. Alternately, the applicant may
contract with the DEQ for payment of fees.

Statute: 75-20-215, MCA

5. Criteria

The DEQ must issue an opinion and render a decision either granting or denying an
application as filed, or granting the application with conditions or modifications. The
department must grant a certificate to a geothermal facility if it does not pose a threat of
serious injury or damage to the environment or area inhabitants. For a linear facility, the
DEQ’s decision is based on a number of factors, including need; the nature of probable
environmental impacts and the minimization of impacts considering the state of available
technology and the nature and economics of the alternatives; that the location of the
proposed facility conforms to applicable state and local laws; that the facility will serve the
public interest, convenience, and necessity; that the DEQ has issued all necessary
decisions, opinions, orders, certifications, and permits; and that the use of public lands or
federally designated energy corridors for the location of the facility was evaluated and
public lands or federally designated energy corridors were selected whenever their use was
compatible with MFSA and transmission line reliability siting criteria. The DEQ must deny
the certificate if the above findings cannot be made.

The DEQ must waive the requirement for alternative site studies and the finding of
minimum adverse environmental impact when a facility is proposed for construction in a
county that has experienced severe unemployment problems because of plant closure. 

Statute: 75-20-301 and 75-20-304, MCA

6. Definition of Facility and Exceptions

Under the MFSA, a facility is:

1) Each electric transmission line and associated facilities of a design capacity
of more than 69 kilovolts, except that the term:

<    does not include an electric transmission line and associated facilities of
a design capacity of 230 kilovolts or less and 10 miles or less in length;

<    does not include an electric transmission line with a design capacity of
more than 69 kilovolts for which the person planning to construct the line has
obtained right-of-way agreements or options for a right-of-way from more
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than 75 percent of the owners who collectively own more than 75 percent of
the property along the centerline; 

<    does not include electric transmission lines that are collectively less than
150 miles in length and are required under state or federal regulations and
laws, with respect to reliability of service, for an electrical generation facility,
as defined in section 15-24-3001(4), MCA, or a wind generation facility,
biomass generation facility, or energy storage facility as defined in section
15-6-157, MCA, to interconnect to a regional transmission grid or secure firm
transmission service to use the grid for which the person planning to
construct the line or lines has obtained right-of-way agreements or options
for a right-of-way from more than 75 percent of the owners who collectively
own more than 75 percent of the property along the centerline or centerlines;

<    does not include an upgrade to an existing transmission line of a design
capacity of 50 kilovolts or more to increase that line's capacity, including
construction outside the existing easement or right-of-way. Except for a
newly acquired easement or right-of-way necessary to comply with
electromagnetic field standards, a newly acquired easement or right-of-way
outside the existing easement or right-of-way as described in this subsection
(8)(a)(iv) may not exceed a total of 10 miles in length or be more than 10
percent of the existing transmission right-of-way, whichever is greater, and
the purpose of the easement must be to avoid sensitive areas or inhabited
areas or conform to state or federal safety, reliability, and operational
standards designed to safeguard the transmission network and protect
electrical workers and the public.

<    does not include a transmission substation, a switchyard, voltage support,
or other control equipment.

2) A pipeline greater than 25 inches in inside diameter and 50 miles in length,
and associated facilities, except for:

<    a pipeline within the boundaries of the state that is used exclusively for
the irrigation of agricultural crops or for drinking water; or

<    a pipeline greater than 25 inches in inside diameter and 50 miles in length
for which the person planning to construct the pipeline has obtained
right-of-way agreements or options for a right-of-way from more than 75
percent of the owners who collectively own more than 75 percent of the
property along the centerline.

3) A pipeline greater than 17 inches in inside diameter and 30 miles in length,
and associated facilities used to transport coal suspended in water. Aspects
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of other pipeline projects may be covered by statutes listed under UTILITIES
(p. 180).

4) A geothermal resource or addition designed for or capable of producing
geothermally derived power equivalent to 50 megawatts, except for a
compressed air energy facility as defined in section 15-6-157, MCA.

5) A plant capable of generating 50 megawatts of hydroelectric power or more,
a unit, or other facility or addition subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal
Regulatory Energy Commission, except for energy storage projects, as
defined in section 15-6-157, MCA.

Statute: 75-20-104(8), MCA

7. Additional Information

The DEQ may not issue a certificate to construct a nuclear facility in Montana unless it
meets the stringent criteria specified in 75-20-1203, MCA. All nuclear facilities must be
subject to a public referendum in order to be approved.

WIND ENERGY

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) does not specifically permit wind
power generating facilities but the following permits may be required depending on the
location of roads, turbines, and powerlines.

1) An easement from the appropriate property owner may be required to ensure
an undisturbed flow of wind across that property. If the affected property
owner is the Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation
(DNRC), the use of that land may be subject to permits, leases, or
easements from the department and approval from the Board of Land
Commissioners (see STATE LANDS, p. 7).

2) Activities that affect air or water quality such as facility construction or
wastewater discharges may require permits from the DEQ (see AIR
QUALITY PERMITS, p. 35 and WATER QUALITY PERMITTING, p. 206).

3) Project sponsors must file a Notice of Intent and a Storm Water Pollution
Prevention Plan with the DEQ for construction activities that would disturb
more than one acre of land.

4) A person who proposes to construct an energy-related project not considered
a facility pursuant to 75-20-104(8), MCA, may petition the DEQ to review the
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project under the provisions of the Major Facility Siting Act. Transmission
lines from a wind generating facility may be covered by the Act (see p. 50).

5) A 310 permit may be required if the project includes the alteration of a
perennial stream: contact the DNRC, Conservation Districts Bureau or the
local Conservation District supervisor (see CONSERVATION DISTRICTS,
p. 1). A 318 permit may be required from the DEQ for work in a stream, lake
or wetland, (see STREAM BEDS - STREAM BANKS - WETLANDS, p. 10).

6) Section 401 water quality certification under the federal Clean Water Act
provides a review of potential adverse water quality impacts associated with
discharges of dredged or fill materials in wetlands and other waters: contact
the DEQ.

7) Activities that affect migratory bird populations are subject to the provisions
of the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act (see p. 98).

Statute: 70-17-303, MCA (wind energy easement)
77-1-301, MCA (DNRC easements, licenses, and permits)
75-20-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Major Facility Siting Act)

Rule: ARM 36.25.104, et seq. (DNRC easements, licenses, and permits)
ARM 17.20.301-17.20.303 and 17.20.801, et seq. (facility siting)

Contact: PROPERTY OWNER

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Environmental Management Bureau

U.S. FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
Montana Office, Helena


