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Ballot Changes to 2010 MCA 
Adopted at General Election November 2, 2010

Constitution

Article VIII, Section 17

Title 31

31-1-112.  Interest rate limitation exemption -- regulated lenders -- merchant finance. 

31-1-203.  Penalties -- prohibited activities.

31-1-241.  Finance charge limitation.

31-1-401.  Interest pawnbrokers may receive -- civil enforcement -- prohibited activities.

31-1-722.  Prohibited and permitted fees -- attorney fees and costs.

31-1-817.  Interest rates -- fees charged.

Title 32

32-5-301.  Fees charged to consumers. 

Title 87

87-1-242.   Funding for wildlife habitat. 

87-1-266.  Hunter management program -- benefits for providing hunting access -- nonresident landowner limitation --

restriction on landowner liability.

87-1-268.   Variable pricing of outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 and B-11 licenses.

87-1-290.   Hunting access account.

87-1-601.   Use of fish and game money.

87-2-202.   Application -- fee -- expiration. 

87-2-505.   Class B-10--nonresident big game combination license.

87-2-510.   Class B-11--nonresident deer combination license. 

87-2-511.   Sale and use of Class B-10, Class B-11, and Class B-13 licenses.

87-2-512.   Separation of Class B-7 license from Class B-10 license for deer management purposes -- disposition of license

revenue.

Montana Constitution

Article VIII

Section 17.  Prohibition on real property transfer taxes.  The state or any local government unit may not impose any tax,

including a sales tax, on the sale or transfer of real property.

Title 31

31-1-112.  Interest rate limitation exemption -- regulated lenders -- merchant finance. (1) A regulated lender, except for

a deferred deposit loan licensee, title loan licensee, or consumer loan licensee, is exempt from all limitations on the rate of interest that

it may charge and is exempt from the operation and effect of all usury statutes.

(2)  A finance operation that finances transactions between merchants, as defined in 30-2-104, is also exempt from usury

limits. 

31-1-203.  Penalties -- prohibited activities. (1) Any person who knowingly violates a provision of this part or engages in

the business of a sales finance company in this state without a license as provided in this part is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon

conviction shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500 or by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.

(2)  Any person violating 31-1-231 through 31-1-243, except as the result of an accidental and bona fide error of computation,

shall be barred from recovery of any finance, delinquency, or collection charge on the contract. In addition to other penalties provided

by law, a violation of subsection (3) and a contract made in violation of the finance charge limitations imposed by 31-1-241 is a

violation of Title 30, chapter 14, part 1.

(3)  A person may not engage in any device or subterfuge intended to evade the requirements of this chapter including

assisting a borrower to obtain a loan at a rate of interest prohibited by Montana law, making loans disguised as personal property sales

and leaseback transactions, or disguising loan proceeds as cash rebates for the pretextual installment sale of goods or services. 

31-1-241.  Finance charge limitation. (1) The finance charge included in a retail installment contract must be at a rate
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agreed upon by the retail seller and the buyer, but the finance charge may not exceed 36% per annum.

(2)  The finance charge included in a retail charge account agreement must be at a rate agreed upon by the retail seller and the

buyer, but the finance charge may not exceed 36% per annum.

(3)  The finance charge must be computed from month to month (which need not be a calendar month) or over another regular

billing cycle period by using either:

(a)  the average daily balance in the account in the billing cycle period; or

(b)  the ending balance of the account as of the last day of the billing cycle period less the amount of total purchases charged

to the account during that billing cycle.

(4)  A seller may change the terms of a revolving charge account whether or not the change is authorized by prior agreement.

The seller shall give the buyer written notice of any change in the billing cycle prior to the effective date of the change.

(5)  If the retail seller increases the finance charge on a retail charge account agreement, then the increased rate may only be

applied to the balance consisting of purchases on other charges incurred on or after the effective date of the increase.

(6)  For purposes of determining the balance to which the increased rate applies, all payments may be considered to be

applied to the balance existing prior to the change in rate until that balance is paid in full.

(7)  If the finance charge determined pursuant to subsection (3) for a monthly period is less than 50 cents, a maximum finance

charge not in excess of 50 cents may be charged and collected for the period. 

31-1-401.  Interest pawnbrokers may receive -- civil enforcement -- prohibited activities. (1) A person may not carry on

the business of pawnbroker or junk dealer by receiving goods pawned or in pledge for loans at any rate of interest above 10% a year

without first obtaining a license. A pawnbroker or junk dealer or the pawnbroker's or junk dealer's employees or agents may not charge

a fee of more than 25% of the amount of the loan for a 30-day period. The fee for extending a pawn agreement for 30 days may not

exceed 25% of the amount of the loan. For purposes of this section, a fee includes all costs or fees charged, including but not limited to

interest, commission, discount, storage, care of property, and purchase option.

(2)  The taking, receiving, reserving, or charging of a fee greater than that allowed under subsection (1) is considered a

forfeiture of a sum double the amount of the fee for storage or caring that was agreed to be paid.

(3)  (a) When a rate or charge greater than that provided for in subsection (1) has been paid, the person by whom it has been

paid may recover from the pawnbroker or junk dealer reasonable attorney fees and an amount double the amount of the fee paid.

(b)  An action under this subsection (3) must be brought within 2 years after the payment of the fee. Before a suit may be

brought, the party bringing suit shall make written demand for return of the fee paid.

(4)  Unless licensed as a consumer loan licensee, deferred deposit loan licensee, or title loan licensee, a pawnbroker or junk

dealer may not:

(a)  cash or advance money for a postdated or deferred presentment check in exchange for a fee or finance charge;

(b)  use a check, authorization for electronic access, or other method of access to a deposit account, savings account, or other

financial or asset account as a condition of or security for an extension of credit;

(c)  receive the title to a motor vehicle for the purpose of a pawn transaction or in pledge for a loan; or 

(d)  engage in any device or subterfuge intended to evade the requirements of this chapter, including assisting a borrower to

obtain a loan at a rate of interest prohibited by Montana law, making loans disguised as personal property sales and leaseback

transactions, or disguising loan proceeds as cash rebates for the pretextual installment sale of goods or services.

(5)  In addition to other penalties provided by law, a violation of subsection (4) is a violation of Title 30, chapter 14, part l. 

31-1-722.  Prohibited and permitted fees -- attorney fees and costs. (1) A licensee may not charge or receive, directly or

indirectly, any interest, fees, or charges except those specifically authorized by this section.

(2)  A licensee may not charge a fee for making or carrying each deferred deposit loan authorized by this part that exceeds

36% per annum, exclusive of the insufficient funds fees authorized in subsections (3) and (4).

(3)  If there are insufficient funds to pay a check on the date of presentment, a licensee may charge a fee, not to exceed $30.

Only one fee may be collected pursuant to this subsection with respect to a particular check even if it has been redeposited and

returned more than once. A fee charged pursuant to this subsection is a licensee's exclusive charge for late payment. A licensee or any

collection agency acting as an agent of a licensee, as a holder in due course of a licensee, or under an agreement with a licensee to

collect amounts due or asserted to be due may not collect damages under 27-1-717(3) for an insufficient funds check.

(4)  If the loan involves an electronic deduction and there are insufficient funds to deduct on the date on which the payment is

due, a licensee may charge a fee, not to exceed $30. Only one fee may be collected pursuant to this subsection with respect to a

particular loan even if the licensee has attempted more than once to deduct the amount due from the consumer's account. A fee charged

pursuant to this subsection is a licensee's exclusive charge for late payment. A licensee or any collection agency acting as an agent of a

licensee, as a holder in due course of a licensee, or under an agreement with a licensee to collect amounts due or asserted to be due

may not collect damages under 27-1-717(3) for an electronic deduction for which there are insufficient funds.

(5)  If the loan agreement in 31-1-721 requires, reasonable attorney fees and court costs may be awarded to the party in whose

favor a final judgment is rendered in any action on a deferred deposit loan entered into pursuant to this part. 
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31-1-817.  Interest rates -- fees charged. (1) The maximum rate of interest for making and carrying any title loan authorized

by this part may not exceed 36% per annum exclusive of the recording costs and service charges provided for in subsections (2) and

(3).

(2)  Title lenders may charge their actual costs of recording liens on borrowers' certificates of title.

(3)  Title lenders may charge a service charge, as provided in 27-1-717, if there are insufficient funds to pay a check on the

date of presentment. Title lenders may not collect damages under 27-1-717(3) based upon the presentment of an insufficient funds

check. 

Title 32

32-5-301.  Fees charged to consumers. (1) A licensee may contract for and receive interest on any loan of money. Such

interest, including fees and charges incurred in the making of the loan but excluding the fees authorized in subsections (2) and (3), may

not exceed 36% per annum.

(2)  If provided for in the contract, an additional fee may be charged for any amount past due according to the original terms

of the contract, whether by reason of default or extension agreement. The fee charged may be the greater of $15 or 5% of the amount

past due, not to exceed $50. The fee charged for any past-due amount may be charged only once. Except as provided in subsection (3),

other fees may not be charged for default or extension of the contract by the borrower.

(3)  (a) If provided for in the contract, a licensee may grant a deferral at any time. A deferral postpones the scheduled due date

of the earliest unpaid installment and all subsequent installments as originally scheduled or as previously deferred for a period equal to

the agreed-upon deferral period. The deferral period is that period during which an installment is not scheduled to be paid by reason of

the deferral.

(b)  A licensee may charge an additional fee for each deferral. The fee charged may be the greater of $15 or 5% of the amount

currently due, not to exceed $50.

(c)  Other fees may not be charged by the lender for any deferrals granted by the lender.

(4)  The licensee may include in the principal amount of any loan:

(a)  the actual fees paid a public official or agency of the state for filing, recording, or releasing any instrument securing the

loan;

(b)  the premium for insurance in lieu of filing or recording any instrument securing the loan to the extent that the premium

does not exceed the fees that would otherwise be payable for filing, recording, or releasing any instrument securing the loan;

(c)  bona fide fees or charges related to real estate security paid to third parties;

(d)  fees or premiums for title examination, title insurance, or similar purposes, including survey;

(e)  fees for preparation of a deed, settlement statement, or other documents;

(f)  fees for notarizing deeds and other documents;

(g)  appraisal fees;

(h)  fees for credit reports; and

(i)  fees paid to a trustee for release of a trust deed.

(5)  (a) Other fees may not be directly or indirectly contracted for or received by any licensee except those specifically

authorized by this chapter. A licensee may not divide into separate parts any contract made for the purpose of or with the effect of

obtaining fees in excess of those authorized by this chapter. If any amount in excess of the fees permitted by this chapter is charged,

contracted for, or received, the licensee shall forfeit to the borrower a sum that is double the amount that is in excess of the fees

authorized by this chapter.

(b)  This section does not apply to fees for services rendered in connection with a loan after the loan has been consummated

and if the borrower's participation in the services is strictly voluntary. 

Title 87

87-1-242.  (Temporary) Funding for wildlife habitat. (1) The amount of money specified in this subsection from the sale of

each hunting license or permit listed must be used exclusively by the commission to secure, develop, and maintain wildlife habitat,

subject to appropriation by the legislature:

(a)  Class B-10, nonresident combination, $77;

(b)  Nonresident antelope, $20;

(c)  Nonresident moose, $20;

(d)  Nonresident mountain goat, $20;

(e)  Nonresident mountain sheep, $20;

(f)  Class D-1, nonresident mountain lion, $20;

(g)  Nonresident black bear, $20;

(h)  Nonresident wild turkey, $10;
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(i)  Class AAA, combination sports, $7;

(j)  Class B-11 nonresident deer combination, $200.

(2)  Twenty percent of any increase in the fee for the Class B-7 license or any license or permit listed in subsection (1), except

outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses subject to variable pricing under 87-1-268, must be allocated for use as

provided in subsection (1).

(3)  Eighty percent of the money allocated by this section, together with the interest and income from the money, must be used

to secure wildlife habitat pursuant to 87-1-209.

(4)  Twenty percent of the money allocated by this section must be used as follows:

(a)  up to 50% a year may be used for development and maintenance of real property used for wildlife habitat; and

(b)  the remainder and any money not allocated for development and maintenance under subsection (4)(a) by the end of each

odd-numbered fiscal year must be credited to the account created by 87-1-601(5) for use in the manner prescribed for the development

and maintenance of real property used for wildlife habitat.

87-1-242.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Funding for wildlife habitat. (1) The amount of money specified in this subsection

from the sale of each hunting license or permit listed must be used exclusively by the commission to secure, develop, and maintain

wildlife habitat, subject to appropriation by the legislature:

(a)  Class B-10, nonresident combination, $77;

(b)  Nonresident antelope, $20;

(c)  Nonresident moose, $20;

(d)  Nonresident mountain goat, $20;

(e)  Nonresident mountain sheep, $20;

(f)  Class D-1, nonresident mountain lion, $20;

(g)  Nonresident black bear, $20;

(h)  Nonresident wild turkey, $10;

(i)  Class AAA, combination sports, $7;

(j)  Class B-11 nonresident deer combination, $200.

(2)  Twenty percent of any increase in the fee for the Class B-7 license or any license or permit listed in subsection (1) must

be allocated for use as provided in subsection (1).

(3)  Eighty percent of the money allocated by this section, together with the interest and income from the money, must be used

to secure wildlife habitat pursuant to 87-1-209.

(4)  Twenty percent of the money allocated by this section must be used as follows:

(a)  up to 50% a year may be used for development and maintenance of real property used for wildlife habitat; and

(b)  the remainder and any money not allocated for development and maintenance under subsection (4)(a) by the end of each

odd-numbered fiscal year must be credited to the account created by 87-1-601(5) for use in the manner prescribed for the development

and maintenance of real property used for wildlife habitat. 

87-1-266.  (Temporary) Hunter management program -- benefits for providing hunting access -- nonresident

landowner limitation -- restriction on landowner liability. (1) As provided in 87-1-265, the department may establish a voluntary

hunter management program to provide tangible benefits to private landowners enrolled in the block management program who grant

access to their land for public hunting. The decision to enroll a landowner in the hunter management program is the responsibility of

the department. Benefits may be granted as provided in this section and by rule.

(2)  As a benefit for enrolling property in the hunter management program, a resident landowner who becomes a cooperator in

the program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may receive one Class AAA combination sports license, without charge,

if the landowner is the owner of record. The license may be used for the full hunting or fishing season in any district where it is valid.

The license may not be transferred by gift or sale.

(3)  As a benefit for enrolling property in the hunter management program, a nonresident landowner who becomes a

cooperator in the program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may receive one Class B-10 nonresident big game

combination license, without charge, if the landowner is the owner of record. The license may be used for the full hunting or fishing

season in any district where it is valid. The license may not be transferred by gift or sale. The grant of a license under this subsection

also qualifies the licensee to apply for a permit through the normal drawing process. The grant of a license under this subsection does

not affect the limits established under 87-1-268 and 87-2-505.

(4)  (a) Instead of receiving the benefits provided in subsection (2) or (3), a landowner of record who becomes a cooperator in

the hunter management program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may designate an immediate family member to

receive a Class AAA combination sports license, without charge, if the family member is a resident or a Class B-10 nonresident big

game combination license, without charge, if the family member is a nonresident. An employee rather than a family member may be

designated to receive a license.

(b)  For purposes of this subsection (4), an immediate family member means a parent, grandparent, child, or grandchild of the

cooperator by blood or marriage, a spouse, a legally adopted  child, a sibling of the cooperator or spouse, or a niece or nephew.
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(c)  For purposes of this subsection (4), the term "employee" means a person who works full time and year-round for the

landowner as part of an active farm or ranch operation.

(d)  An immediate family member or employee who is designated to receive a license pursuant to this subsection (4) must be

eligible for licensure under current Montana law and may not transfer the license by gift or sale.

(e)  The grant of a Class B-10 nonresident big game combination license to an immediate family member or employee

pursuant to this subsection (4) does not affect the limits established in 87-1-268 and 87-2-505.

(5)  Any landowner who is enrolled in the block management program may receive the benefits provided under the hunter

management program, as outlined in this section, and the benefits provided under the hunting access enhancement program, as outlined

in 87-1-267.

(6)  The restriction on liability of a landowner, agent, or tenant that is provided under 70-16-302(1) applies to a landowner

who participates in the hunter management program.

87-1-266.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Hunter management program -- benefits for providing hunting access --

nonresident landowner limitation -- restriction on landowner liability. (1) As provided in 87-1-265, the department may establish

a voluntary hunter management program to provide tangible benefits to private landowners enrolled in the block management program

who grant access to their land for public hunting. The decision to enroll a landowner in the hunter management program is the

responsibility of the department. Benefits may be granted as provided in this section and by rule.

(2)  As a benefit for enrolling property in the hunter management program, a resident landowner who becomes a cooperator in

the program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may receive one Class AAA combination sports license, without charge,

if the landowner is the owner of record. The license may be used for the full hunting or fishing season in any district where it is valid.

The license may not be transferred by gift or sale.

(3)  As a benefit for enrolling property in the hunter management program, a nonresident landowner who becomes a

cooperator in the program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may receive one Class B-10 nonresident big game

combination license, without charge, if the landowner is the owner of record. The license may be used for the full hunting or fishing

season in any district where it is valid. The license may not be transferred by gift or sale. The grant of a license under this subsection

also qualifies the licensee to apply for a permit through the normal drawing process. The grant of a license under this subsection does

not affect the limits established under 87-2-505.

(4)  (a) Instead of receiving the benefits provided in subsection (2) or (3), a landowner of record who becomes a cooperator in

the hunter management program and who agrees to provide public hunting access may designate an immediate family member to

receive a Class AAA combination sports license, without charge, if the family member is a resident or a Class B-10 nonresident big

game combination license, without charge, if the family member is a nonresident. An employee rather than a family member may be

designated to receive a license.

(b)  For purposes of this subsection (4), an immediate family member means a parent, grandparent, child, or grandchild of the

cooperator by blood or marriage, a spouse, a legally adopted  child, a sibling of the cooperator or spouse, or a niece or nephew.

(c)  For purposes of this subsection (4), the term "employee" means a person who works full time and year-round for the

landowner as part of an active farm or ranch operation.

(d)  An immediate family member or employee who is designated to receive a license pursuant to this subsection (4) must be

eligible for licensure under current Montana law and may not transfer the license by gift or sale.

(e)  The grant of a Class B-10 nonresident big game combination license to an immediate family member or employee

pursuant to this subsection (4) does not affect the limits established in 87-2-505.

(5)  Any landowner who is enrolled in the block management program may receive the benefits provided under the hunter

management program, as outlined in this section, and the benefits provided under the hunting access enhancement program, as outlined

in 87-1-267.

(6)  The restriction on liability of a landowner, agent, or tenant that is provided under 70-16-302(1) applies to a landowner

who participates in the hunter management program. 

87-1-268.  (Temporary) Variable pricing of outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 and B-11 licenses. The commission shall

annually set fees for outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses allowed under 87-2-505 and 87-2-510. The fees must be

set at a market rate intended to sell as close to but not more than an average of 5,500 Class B-10 licenses and 2,300 Class B-11

licenses each year, calculated over a 5-year period. The sale period for the licenses must be established so that by the last date in the

established period, those licenses that are unsold, up to 5,500 Class B-10 licenses and 2,300 Class B-11 licenses, may be reallocated by

the commission for a drawing at a price set by the commission. (Repealed effective March 1, 2011--sec. 10, I.M. No. 161, approved

Nov. 2, 2010.) 

87-1-288 and 87-1-289 reserved. 

87-1-290.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Hunting access account. (1) There is a hunting access account in the state special

revenue fund. Funds deposited in this account may be used only for the purpose of funding any hunting access program established by
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law or by the department through administrative rule.

(2)  The following funds must be deposited in the account:

(a)  25% of the fee for Class B-10 nonresident big game combination licenses pursuant to 87-2-505(1)(c) and 25% of the fee

for Class B-11 nonresident deer combination licenses pursuant to 87-2-510(1)(b);

(b)  25% of the fee for hunting licenses issued to nonresident children of a resident pursuant to 87-2-514; and

(c)  the hunting access enhancement fees assessed pursuant to 87-2-202(3)(c) and (3)(d).

(3)  Any interest or income earned on the account must be deposited in the account. 

87-1-601.  (Temporary) Use of fish and game money. (1) (a) Except as provided in subsections (7) and (9), all money

collected or received from the sale of hunting and fishing licenses or permits, from the sale of seized game or hides, from damages

collected for violations of the fish and game laws of this state, or from appropriations or received by the department from any other

state source must be turned over to the department of revenue and placed in the state special revenue fund to the credit of the

department.

(b)  Any money received from federal sources must be deposited in the federal special revenue fund to the credit of the

department.

(c)  All interest earned on money from the following sources must be placed in the state special revenue fund to the credit of

the department:

(i)  the general license account;

(ii) the license drawing account;

(iii) accounts established to administer the provisions of 87-1-246, 87-1-258, 87-1-605, 87-2-411, 87-2-722, and 87-2-724;

and

(iv) money received from the sale of any other hunting and fishing license.

(2)  Except as provided in 87-2-411, the money described in subsection (1) must be exclusively set apart and made available

for the payment of all salaries, per diem, fees, expenses, and expenditures authorized to be made by the department under the terms of

this title. The money described in subsection (1) must be spent for those purposes by the department, subject to appropriation by the

legislature.

(3)  Any reference to the fish and game fund in Title 87 means fish and game money in the state special revenue fund and the

federal special revenue fund.

(4)  Except as provided in subsections (7) and (8), all money collected or received from fines and forfeited bonds, except

money collected or received by a justice's court, that relates to violations of state fish and game laws under Title 87 must be deposited

by the department of revenue and credited to the department in a state special revenue fund account for this purpose. Out of any fine

imposed by a court for the violation of the fish and game laws, the costs of prosecution must be paid to the county where the trial was

held in any case in which the fine is not imposed in addition to the costs of prosecution.

(5)  (a) Except as provided in 87-1-621 and section 2(3), Chapter 560, Laws of 2005, money must be deposited in an account

in the permanent fund if it is received by the department from:

(i)  the sale of surplus real property;

(ii) exploration or development of oil, gas, or mineral deposits from lands acquired by the department, except royalties or

other compensation based on production; and

(iii) leases of interests in department real property not contemplated at the time of acquisition.

(b)  The interest derived from the account, but not the principal, may be used only for the purpose of operation, development,

and maintenance of real property of the department and only upon appropriation by the legislature. If the use of money as set forth in

this section would result in violation of applicable federal laws or state statutes specifically naming the department or money received

by the department, then the use of this money must be limited in the manner, method, and amount to those uses that do not result in a

violation.

(6)  Money received from the collection of license drawing applications is subject to the deposit requirements of 17-6-105(6)

unless the department has submitted and received approval for a modified deposit schedule pursuant to 17-6-105(8).

(7)  Money collected or received from fines or forfeited bonds for the violation of 77-1-801, 77-1-806, or rules adopted under

77-1-804 must be deposited in the state general fund.

(8)  The department of revenue shall deposit in the state general fund one-half of the money received from the fines pursuant

to 87-1-102.

(9)  (a) The department shall deposit all money received from the search and rescue surcharge in 87-2-202 in a state special

revenue account to the credit of the department for search and rescue purposes as provided for in 10-3-801.

(b)  Upon certification by the department of reimbursement requests submitted by the department of military affairs for search

and rescue missions involving persons engaged in hunting, fishing, or trapping, the department may transfer funds from the special

revenue account to the search and rescue account provided for in 10-3-801 to reimburse counties for the costs of those missions as

provided in 10-3-801.

(c)  Using funds in the department's search and rescue account that are not already committed to reimbursement for search and
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rescue missions, the department may provide matching funds to the department of military affairs to reimburse counties for search and

rescue training and equipment costs up to the proportion that the number of search and rescue missions involving persons engaged in

hunting, fishing, or trapping bears to the statewide total of search and rescue missions.

(d)  Any money deposited in the special revenue account is available for reimbursement of search and rescue missions and to

provide matching funds to reimburse counties for search and rescue training and equipment costs.

87-1-601.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Use of fish and game money. (1) (a) Except as provided in 87-1-290 and subsections

(7) and (9) of this section, all money collected or received from the sale of hunting and fishing licenses or permits, from the sale of

seized game or hides, from damages collected for violations of the fish and game laws of this state, or from appropriations or received

by the department from any other state source must be turned over to the department of revenue and placed in the state special revenue

fund to the credit of the department.

(b)  Any money received from federal sources must be deposited in the federal special revenue fund to the credit of the

department.

(c)  All interest earned on money from the following sources must be placed in the state special revenue fund to the credit of

the department:

(i)  the general license account;

(ii) the license drawing account;

(iii) accounts established to administer the provisions of 87-1-246, 87-1-258, 87-1-605, 87-2-411, 87-2-722, and 87-2-724;

and

(iv) money received from the sale of any other hunting and fishing license.

(2)  Except as provided in 87-2-411, the money described in subsection (1) must be exclusively set apart and made available

for the payment of all salaries, per diem, fees, expenses, and expenditures authorized to be made by the department under the terms of

this title. The money described in subsection (1) must be spent for those purposes by the department, subject to appropriation by the

legislature.

(3)  Any reference to the fish and game fund in Title 87 means fish and game money in the state special revenue fund and the

federal special revenue fund.

(4)  Except as provided in subsections (7) and (8), all money collected or received from fines and forfeited bonds, except

money collected or received by a justice's court, that relates to violations of state fish and game laws under Title 87 must be deposited

by the department of revenue and credited to the department in a state special revenue fund account for this purpose. Out of any fine

imposed by a court for the violation of the fish and game laws, the costs of prosecution must be paid to the county where the trial was

held in any case in which the fine is not imposed in addition to the costs of prosecution.

(5)  (a) Except as provided in 87-1-621 and section 2(3), Chapter 560, Laws of 2005, money must be deposited in an account

in the permanent fund if it is received by the department from:

(i)  the sale of surplus real property;

(ii) exploration or development of oil, gas, or mineral deposits from lands acquired by the department, except royalties or

other compensation based on production; and

(iii) leases of interests in department real property not contemplated at the time of acquisition.

(b)  The interest derived from the account, but not the principal, may be used only for the purpose of operation, development,

and maintenance of real property of the department and only upon appropriation by the legislature. If the use of money as set forth in

this section would result in violation of applicable federal laws or state statutes specifically naming the department or money received

by the department, then the use of this money must be limited in the manner, method, and amount to those uses that do not result in a

violation.

(6)  Money received from the collection of license drawing applications is subject to the deposit requirements of 17-6-105(6)

unless the department has submitted and received approval for a modified deposit schedule pursuant to 17-6-105(8).

(7)  Money collected or received from fines or forfeited bonds for the violation of 77-1-801, 77-1-806, or rules adopted under

77-1-804 must be deposited in the state general fund.

(8)  The department of revenue shall deposit in the state general fund one-half of the money received from the fines pursuant

to 87-1-102.

(9)  (a) The department shall deposit all money received from the search and rescue surcharge in 87-2-202 in a state special

revenue account to the credit of the department for search and rescue purposes as provided for in 10-3-801.

(b)  Upon certification by the department of reimbursement requests submitted by the department of military affairs for search

and rescue missions involving persons engaged in hunting, fishing, or trapping, the department may transfer funds from the special

revenue account to the search and rescue account provided for in 10-3-801 to reimburse counties for the costs of those missions as

provided in 10-3-801.

(c)  Using funds in the department's search and rescue account that are not already committed to reimbursement for search and

rescue missions, the department may provide matching funds to the department of military affairs to reimburse counties for search and

rescue training and equipment costs up to the proportion that the number of search and rescue missions involving persons engaged in

hunting, fishing, or trapping bears to the statewide total of search and rescue missions.
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(d)  Any money deposited in the special revenue account is available for reimbursement of search and rescue missions and to

provide matching funds to reimburse counties for search and rescue training and equipment costs. 

87-2-202.  (Temporary) Application -- fee -- expiration. (1) Except as provided in 87-2-803(12), a wildlife conservation

license must be sold upon written application. The application must contain the applicant's name, age, [social security number,]

occupation, street address of permanent residence, mailing address, qualifying length of time as a resident in the state of Montana, and

status as a citizen of the United States or as an alien and must be signed by the applicant. The applicant shall present a valid Montana

driver's license, a Montana driver's examiner's identification card, a tribal identification card, or other identification specified by the

department to substantiate the required information when applying for a wildlife conservation license. It is the applicant's burden to

provide documentation establishing the applicant's identity and qualifications to purchase a wildlife conservation license or to receive a

free wildlife conservation license pursuant to 87-2-803(12). It is unlawful and a misdemeanor for a license agent to sell a wildlife

conservation license to an applicant who fails to produce the required identification at the time of application for licensure.

(2)  Hunting, fishing, or trapping licenses issued in a form determined by the department must be recorded according to rules

that the department may prescribe.

(3)  (a) Resident wildlife conservation licenses may be purchased for a fee of $8, of which 25 cents is a search and rescue

surcharge.

(b)  Nonresident wildlife conservation licenses may be purchased for a fee of $10, of which 25 cents is a search and rescue

surcharge.

(c)  In addition to the fee in subsection (3)(a), the first time in any license year that a resident uses the wildlife conservation

license as a prerequisite to purchase a hunting license, an additional hunting access enhancement fee of $2 is assessed. The additional

fee may be used by the department only to encourage enhanced hunting access through the hunter management and hunting access

enhancement programs established in 87-1-265 through 87-1-267. The wildlife conservation license must be marked appropriately

when the hunting access enhancement fee is paid. The resident hunting access enhancement fee is chargeable only once during any

license year.

(d)  In addition to the fee in subsection (3)(b), the first time in any license year that a nonresident uses the wildlife

conservation license as a prerequisite to purchase a hunting license, except a variably priced outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 or Class

B-11 license issued under 87-1-268, an additional hunting access enhancement fee of $10 is assessed. The additional fee may be used

by the department only to encourage enhanced hunting access through the hunter management and hunting access enhancement

programs established in 87-1-265 through 87-1-267. The wildlife conservation license must be marked appropriately when the hunting

access enhancement fee is paid. The nonresident hunting access enhancement fee is chargeable only once during any license year.

(4)  Licenses issued are void after the last day of February next succeeding their issuance.

[(5)  The department shall keep the applicant's social security number confidential, except that the number may be provided to

the department of public health and human services for use in administering Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.]

(6)  The department shall delete the applicant's social security number in any electronic database [5 years after the date that

application is made for the most recent license]. (Bracketed language terminates or is amended on occurrence of contingency--sec. 3,

Ch. 321, L. 2001. The $2 wildlife conservation license fee increases in subsections (3)(a) and (3)(b) enacted by Ch. 596, L. 2003, are

void on occurrence of contingency--sec. 8, Ch. 596, L. 2003.)

87-2-202.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Application -- fee -- expiration. (1) Except as provided in 87-2-803(12), a wildlife

conservation license must be sold upon written application. The application must contain the applicant's name, age, [social security

number,] occupation, street address of permanent residence, mailing address, qualifying length of time as a resident in the state of

Montana, and status as a citizen of the United States or as an alien and must be signed by the applicant. The applicant shall present a

valid Montana driver's license, a Montana driver's examiner's identification card, a tribal identification card, or other identification

specified by the department to substantiate the required information when applying for a wildlife conservation license. It is the

applicant's burden to provide documentation establishing the applicant's identity and qualifications to purchase a wildlife conservation

license or to receive a free wildlife conservation license pursuant to 87-2-803(12). It is unlawful and a misdemeanor for a license agent

to sell a wildlife conservation license to an applicant who fails to produce the required identification at the time of application for

licensure.

(2)  Hunting, fishing, or trapping licenses issued in a form determined by the department must be recorded according to rules

that the department may prescribe.

(3)  (a) Resident wildlife conservation licenses may be purchased for a fee of $8, of which 25 cents is a search and rescue

surcharge.

(b)  Nonresident wildlife conservation licenses may be purchased for a fee of $10, of which 25 cents is a search and rescue

surcharge.

(c)  In addition to the fee in subsection (3)(a), the first time in any license year that a resident uses the wildlife conservation

license as a prerequisite to purchase a hunting license, an additional hunting access enhancement fee of $2 is assessed. The additional

fee may be used by the department only to encourage enhanced hunting access through the hunter management and hunting access

enhancement programs established in 87-1-265 through 87-1-267. The wildlife conservation license must be marked appropriately
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when the hunting access enhancement fee is paid. The resident hunting access enhancement fee is chargeable only once during any

license year.

(d)  In addition to the fee in subsection (3)(b), the first time in any license year that a nonresident uses the wildlife

conservation license as a prerequisite to purchase a hunting license, an additional hunting access enhancement fee of $10 is assessed.

The additional fee may be used by the department only to encourage enhanced hunting access through the hunter management and

hunting access enhancement programs established in 87-1-265 through 87-1-267. The wildlife conservation license must be marked

appropriately when the hunting access enhancement fee is paid. The nonresident hunting access enhancement fee is chargeable only

once during any license year.

(4)  Licenses issued are void after the last day of February next succeeding their issuance.

[(5)  The department shall keep the applicant's social security number confidential, except that the number may be provided to

the department of public health and human services for use in administering Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.]

(6)  The department shall delete the applicant's social security number in any electronic database [5 years after the date that

application is made for the most recent license]. (Bracketed language terminates or is amended on occurrence of contingency--sec. 3,

Ch. 321, L. 2001. The $2 wildlife conservation license fee increases in subsections (3)(a) and (3)(b) enacted by Ch. 596, L. 2003, are

void on occurrence of contingency--sec. 8, Ch. 596, L. 2003.) 

87-2-505.  (Temporary) Class B-10--nonresident big game combination license. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this

chapter, a person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, but who is 12 years of age or older or who will turn 12 years old before

or during the season for which the license is issued may, upon payment of the fee of $628 plus the nonresident hunting access

enhancement fee in 87-2-202(3)(d) or upon payment of the fee established as provided in 87-1-268 if the license is one of the licenses

reserved pursuant to 87-2-511 for applicants indicating their intent to use the services of a licensed outfitter and subject to the

limitations prescribed by law and department regulation, apply to the fish, wildlife, and parks office, Helena, Montana, to purchase a

B-10 nonresident big game combination license that entitles a holder who is 12 years of age or older to all the privileges of Class B,

Class B-1, and Class B-7 licenses and an elk tag. This license includes the nonresident conservation license as prescribed in 87-2-202.

Not more than 11,500 unreserved Class B-10 licenses may be sold in any 1 license year.

(2)  A person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, who is unsuccessful in the Class B-10 big game combination

license drawing may pay a fee of $25 to participate in a preference system for deer and elk permits established by the commission.

87-2-505.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Class B-10--nonresident big game combination license. (1)  (a) Except as otherwise

provided in this chapter, a person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, but who is 12 years of age or older or who will turn 12

years old before or during the season for which the license is issued may, upon payment of the fee of $897 plus the nonresident hunting

access enhancement fee in 87-2-202(3)(d) and subject to the limitations prescribed by law and department regulation, apply to the fish,

wildlife, and parks office, Helena, Montana, to purchase a B-10 nonresident big game combination license that entitles a holder who is

12 years of age or older to all the privileges of Class B, Class B-1, and Class B-7 licenses and an elk tag. This license includes the

nonresident conservation license as prescribed in 87-2-202.

(b)  Not more than 17,000 Class B-10 licenses may be sold in any 1 license year.

(c)  Of the fee paid for the purchase of a Class B-10 nonresident big game combination license pursuant to subsection (1)(a),

25% must be deposited in the account established in 87-1-290.

(d)  The cost of the Class B-10 nonresident big game combination license must be adjusted annually based on any change to

the consumer price index from the previous year. The consumer price index to be used for calculations is the consumer price index for

all urban consumers (CPI-U).

(2)  A person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, who is unsuccessful in the Class B-10 big game combination

license drawing may pay a fee of $25 to participate in a preference system for deer and elk permits established by the commission. 

87-2-510.  (Temporary) Class B-11--nonresident deer combination license. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this

chapter, a person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, but who is 12 years of age or older or who will turn 12 years old before

or during the season for which the license is issued may, upon payment of a fee of $328 plus the nonresident hunting access

enhancement fee in 87-2-202(3)(d), upon payment of the fee established as provided in 87-1-268 if the license is one of those reserved

pursuant to 87-2-511 for applicants indicating their intent to use the services of a licensed outfitter or upon payment of the fee of $328

plus the nonresident hunting access enhancement fee in 87-2-202(3)(d), if the license is one of those reserved pursuant to 87-2-511 for

applicants indicating their intent to hunt with a resident sponsor on land owned by that sponsor and subject to the limitations prescribed

by law and department regulation, apply to the fish, wildlife, and parks office, Helena, Montana, to purchase a Class B-11 nonresident

deer combination license that entitles a holder who is 12 years of age or older to all the privileges of the Class B, Class B-1, and Class

B-7 licenses. This license includes the nonresident wildlife conservation license as prescribed in 87-2-202.

(2)  Not more than 2,300 unreserved Class B-11 licenses may be sold in any 1 license year.

(3)  A person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, who is unsuccessful in the Class B-11 deer combination license

drawing may pay a fee of $25 to participate in a preference system for deer and elk permits established by the commission.

87-2-510.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Class B-11--nonresident deer combination license. (1)  (a) Except as otherwise
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provided in this chapter, a person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, but who is 12 years of age or older or who will turn 12

years old before or during the season for which the license is issued may, upon payment of a fee of $527 plus the nonresident hunting

access enhancement fee in 87-2-202(3)(d) and subject to the limitations prescribed by law and department regulation, apply to the fish,

wildlife, and parks office, Helena, Montana, to purchase a Class B-11 nonresident deer combination license that entitles a holder who

is 12 years of age or older to all the privileges of the Class B, Class B-1, and Class B-7 licenses. This license includes the nonresident

wildlife conservation license as prescribed in 87-2-202.

(b)  Of the fee paid for the purchase of a Class B-11 nonresident deer combination license pursuant to subsection (1)(a), 25%

must be deposited in the account established in 87-1-290.

(c)  The cost of the Class B-11 nonresident deer combination license must be adjusted annually based on any change to the

consumer price index from the previous year. The consumer price index to be used for calculations is the consumer price index for all

urban consumers (CPI-U).

(2)  Not more than 4,600 unreserved Class B-11 licenses may be sold in any 1 license year.

(3)  A person who is not a resident, as defined in 87-2-102, who is unsuccessful in the Class B-11 deer combination license

drawing may pay a fee of $25 to participate in a preference system for deer and elk permits established by the commission. 

87-2-511.  (Temporary) Sale and use of Class B-10, Class B-11, and Class B-13 licenses. (1) The department shall offer

the Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses for sale on March 15, with a number of authorized Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses, as

determined under 87-1-268, reserved for applicants using the services of a licensed outfitter and 2,000 of the authorized Class B-11

licenses reserved for applicants indicating their intent to hunt with a resident sponsor on land owned by that sponsor, as provided in

subsections (2) and (3).

(2)  Each application for a resident-sponsored license under subsection (1) must contain a written affirmation by the applicant

that the applicant intends to hunt with a resident sponsor and must indicate the name of the resident sponsor with whom the applicant

intends to hunt. In addition, the application must be accompanied by a certificate that is signed by a resident sponsor and that affirms

that the resident sponsor will:

(a)  direct the applicant's hunting and advise the applicant of game and trespass laws of the state;

(b)  submit to the department, in a manner prescribed by the department, complete records of who hunted with the resident

sponsor, where they hunted, and what game was taken; and

(c)  accept no monetary consideration for enabling the nonresident applicant to obtain a license or for providing any services

or assistance to the nonresident applicant, except as provided in Title 37, chapter 47, and this title.

(3)  The certificate signed by the resident sponsor pursuant to subsection (2) must also affirm that the sponsor is a landowner

and that the applicant under the certificate will hunt only on land owned by the sponsor. If there is a sufficient number of licenses set

forth in subsection (1), the department shall issue a license to one applicant sponsored by each resident landowner who owns 640 or

more contiguous acres. If enough licenses remain for a second applicant for each resident landowner sponsor, the department shall

issue a license to the second applicant sponsored by each resident landowner. The department shall conduct a drawing for any

remaining resident-sponsored licenses. If there is not a sufficient number of licenses set forth in subsection (1) to allow each resident

landowner who owns 640 contiguous acres to sponsor one applicant, the department shall conduct a drawing for the resident-sponsored

licenses. However, a resident sponsor of a Class B-11 license may submit no more than 15 certificates of sponsorship in any license

year.

(4)  Each application for an outfitter-sponsored license under subsection (1) must contain a written affirmation by the

applicant that the applicant will hunt with a licensed outfitter for all big game hunted by the applicant under the license and must

indicate the name of the licensed outfitter with whom the applicant will hunt. In addition, the application must be accompanied by a

certificate that is signed by a licensed outfitter and that affirms that the outfitter will:

(a)  accompany the applicant;

(b)  provide guiding services for the species hunted by the applicant;

(c)  direct the applicant's hunting for all big game hunted by the applicant under the license and advise the applicant of game

and trespass laws of the state;

(d)  submit to the department, in a manner prescribed by the department, complete records of who hunted with the outfitter,

where they hunted, and what game was taken; and

(e)  accept no monetary consideration for enabling the nonresident applicant to obtain a license or for providing any services

or assistance to the nonresident applicant, except as provided in Title 37, chapter 47, and this title.

(5)  An outfitter-sponsored license under subsection (1) is valid only when used in compliance with the affirmations of the

applicant and outfitter required under subsection (4). If the sponsoring outfitter is unavailable or if the applicant wishes to use the

services of separate outfitters for hunting different species of game, an outfitter-sponsored license may be used with a substitute

licensed outfitter, in compliance with the affirmations under subsection (4), upon advance written notification to the board by the

sponsoring licensed outfitter or the substitute outfitter.

(6)  A nonresident who hunts under the authority of a resident landowner-sponsored license shall conduct all deer hunting on

the deeded lands of the sponsoring landowner.
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(7)  Any permits or tags secured as a result of obtaining a Class B-10 or Class B-11 license through an outfitter sponsor are

valid only when hunting is conducted with a licensed outfitter.

(8)  The department shall make the reserved outfitter-sponsored Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses that remain unsold

available as provided in 87-1-268.

(9)  All Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses that are not reserved under subsection (1) must be issued by a drawing among all

applicants for the respective unreserved licenses.

(10) The department shall offer the Class B-13 nonresident youth big game combination license for sale on March 1. An

applicant shall provide the name and automated licensing system number of the adult immediate family member who will accompany

the youth. The adult sponsor must possess either a valid Class B-10 or Class B-11 license or a valid resident deer or elk tag at the time

of application.

87-2-511.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Sale and use of Class B-10, Class B-11, and Class B-13 licenses. (1) The department

shall offer the Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses for sale on March 15, with 2,000 of the authorized Class B-11 licenses reserved for

applicants indicating their intent to hunt with a resident sponsor on land owned by that sponsor, as provided in subsections (2) and (3).

(2)  Each application for a resident-sponsored license under subsection (1) must contain a written affirmation by the applicant

that the applicant intends to hunt with a resident sponsor and must indicate the name of the resident sponsor with whom the applicant

intends to hunt. In addition, the application must be accompanied by a certificate that is signed by a resident sponsor and that affirms

that the resident sponsor will:

(a)  direct the applicant's hunting and advise the applicant of game and trespass laws of the state;

(b)  submit to the department, in a manner prescribed by the department, complete records of who hunted with the resident

sponsor, where they hunted, and what game was taken; and

(c)  accept no monetary consideration for enabling the nonresident applicant to obtain a license or for providing any services

or assistance to the nonresident applicant, except as provided in Title 37, chapter 47, and this title.

(3)  The certificate signed by the resident sponsor pursuant to subsection (2) must also affirm that the sponsor is a landowner

and that the applicant under the certificate will hunt only on land owned by the sponsor. If there is a sufficient number of licenses set

forth in subsection (1), the department shall issue a license to one applicant sponsored by each resident landowner who owns 640 or

more contiguous acres. If enough licenses remain for a second applicant for each resident landowner sponsor, the department shall

issue a license to the second applicant sponsored by each resident landowner. The department shall conduct a drawing for any

remaining resident-sponsored licenses. If there is not a sufficient number of licenses set forth in subsection (1) to allow each resident

landowner who owns 640 contiguous acres to sponsor one applicant, the department shall conduct a drawing for the resident-sponsored

licenses. However, a resident sponsor of a Class B-11 license may submit no more than 15 certificates of sponsorship in any license

year.

(4)  A nonresident who hunts under the authority of a resident landowner-sponsored license shall conduct all deer hunting on

the deeded lands of the sponsoring landowner.

(5)  All Class B-10 and Class B-11 licenses that are not reserved under subsection (1) must be issued by a drawing among all

applicants for the respective unreserved licenses.

(6)  The department shall offer the Class B-13 nonresident youth big game combination license for sale on March 1. An

applicant shall provide the name and automated licensing system number of the adult immediate family member who will accompany

the youth. The adult sponsor must possess either a valid Class B-10 or Class B-11 license or a valid resident deer or elk tag at the time

of application. 

87-2-512.  (Temporary) Separation of Class B-7 license from Class B-10 license for deer management purposes --

disposition of license revenue. (1) The commission may by rule separate the Class B-7 license from the Class B-10 license and sell

the separated Class B-7 license, giving a preference to any Class B-10 license holder to purchase one of the separated Class B-7

licenses. In the case of separated Class B-7 licenses that are not purchased by Class B-10 license holders, the commission, for purposes

of sound deer management:

(a)  may authorize the sale of not more than 5,000 Class B-7 licenses that have been separated from the Class B-10 licenses,

as limited by 87-2-504;

(b)  may authorize all or a portion of the separated Class B-7 licenses to be sold as Class B-11 combination licenses;

(c)  shall set the fees for the separated licenses as follows:

(i)  the fee for a Class B-10 license without the deer tag may not be more than the fee set in 87-2-505 for licenses in the

general category and may not be more than the fee set by the commission for licenses in the outfitter-sponsored category as specified in

87-1-268; and

(ii) the fee for the separated Class B-11 licenses may not be more than the fees specified in 87-2-510 for licenses in the

general and landowner-sponsored categories and may not be more than the fee set by the commission for licenses in the

outfitter-sponsored category as specified in 87-1-268;

(d)  may assign the separated Class B-7 or Class B-11 licenses for use in specific administrative regions, portions of

administrative regions, hunting districts, or portions of hunting districts;
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(e)  may allocate a portion of the separated Class B-7 or Class B-11 licenses among the general and landowner-sponsored

categories established in 87-2-510 and 87-2-511 but not count those licenses as part of the statutory quotas, with the Class B-7 licenses

then subject to the requirements and procedures of 87-2-511;

(f)  may allocate a portion of the separated Class B-7 or Class B-11 licenses to the outfitter-sponsored category subject to the

requirements and procedures of 87-2-511, except that licenses in the outfitter-sponsored category may not comprise more than

one-third of the licenses issued pursuant to this section and the number issued, when added to the number of Class B-11 licenses issued

under 87-1-268, may not exceed 2,300 in any license year; and

(g)  may condition the separated Class B-7 and Class B-11 licenses as appropriate and necessary to manage the harvest of

deer, including restricting the use of a license to either mule deer or whitetail deer.

(2)  The revenue from any Class B-11 licenses that have been separated from Class B-10 licenses must be deposited in the

state special revenue account to the credit of the department and not allocated pursuant to other statutory requirements generally

applicable to Class B-11 licenses. The revenue from Class B-10 licenses sold without a deer tag must be allocated in the same manner

as revenue from Class B-10 licenses sold with a deer tag.

87-2-512.  (Effective March 1, 2011) Separation of Class B-7 license from Class B-10 license for deer management

purposes -- disposition of license revenue. (1) The commission may by rule separate the Class B-7 license from the Class B-10

license and sell the separated Class B-7 license, giving a preference to any Class B-10 license holder to purchase one of the separated

Class B-7 licenses. In the case of separated Class B-7 licenses that are not purchased by Class B-10 license holders, the commission,

for purposes of sound deer management:

(a)  may authorize the sale of not more than 5,000 Class B-7 licenses that have been separated from the Class B-10 licenses,

as limited by 87-2-504;

(b)  may authorize all or a portion of the separated Class B-7 licenses to be sold as Class B-11 combination licenses;

(c)  shall set the fees for the separated licenses as follows:

(i)  the fee for a Class B-10 license without the deer tag may not be more than the fee set in 87-2-505 for licenses in the

general category; and

(ii) the fee for the separated Class B-11 licenses may not be more than the fees specified in 87-2-510 for licenses in the

general and landowner-sponsored categories;

(d)  may assign the separated Class B-7 or Class B-11 licenses for use in specific administrative regions, portions of

administrative regions, hunting districts, or portions of hunting districts;

(e)  may allocate a portion of the separated Class B-7 or Class B-11 licenses among the general and landowner-sponsored

categories established in 87-2-510 and 87-2-511 but not count those licenses as part of the statutory quotas, with the Class B-7 licenses

then subject to the requirements and procedures of 87-2-511; and

(f)  may condition the separated Class B-7 and Class B-11 licenses as appropriate and necessary to manage the harvest of

deer, including restricting the use of a license to either mule deer or whitetail deer.

(2)  The revenue from any Class B-11 licenses that have been separated from Class B-10 licenses must be deposited in the

state special revenue account to the credit of the department and not allocated pursuant to other statutory requirements generally

applicable to Class B-11 licenses. The revenue from Class B-10 licenses sold without a deer tag must be allocated in the same manner

as revenue from Class B-10 licenses sold with a deer tag.  
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