
State Who is Covered (Yrs.) In What Seat Maximum Fine 1st Offense

Alabama >15 Front $25 

Alaska >16 All $15 

American Samoa No data No data No data

Arkansas >15 Front $25 (plus court costs and city/county jail fines)

California >16 All $162 ($20 fine + $142 in penalties and assessments)

$92 for >18 ($50 fine + $7 fee + $35 surcharge)

$120 for <18 ($75 fine + $10 fee + $35 surcharge)

Delaware 1 >16 All $25 

D.C. >16 All $50 

>6 Front

17-Jun All

17-Aug All

>18 Front

Guam All All $100 

Hawaii >8 All $112 (including administrative fees)

<18, if driver <18 All

>16 All

Indiana >16 All $25 

Iowa All Front $127.50 (including court costs)

14 - 17 All $60 

Front

(other seating positions are 
secondary enforcement)

<6 and >50"

>7

Louisiana >13 All $25 

Maine >18 All $50 

All

(secondary for rear seats)

Michigan >16 Front $25 

States with Primary Seat Belt Laws

Maryland >16 $83 (fine plus court costs)

Illinois $25 plus court costs

Kansas
>18 $10 

Kentucky All $25 

Connecticut >7 Front

Florida $30 

Georgia $15 

http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/al.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ak.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/as.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ar.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ca.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/dc.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/gu.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/hi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/in.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ia.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/la.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/me.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/mi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/md.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/il.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ks.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ky.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ct.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/fl.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ga.html


Minnesota <7 (and >57") or >8 All $25, plus approx. $75 court surcharge (surcharge 
varies slightly by county)

Mississippi >7 Front $25 

<7 and >80 lbs. All

>8 (secondary for rear seats)

New Mexico >18 All $25 

<16 All

All Front

All

(secondary for rear seats)

Northern Mariana 
Islands

>6 All $25 

Oklahoma >13 Front $20 

Oregon All All $130 

Puerto Rico >9 (or >57") $50 

Rhode Island >8 All $40 

South Carolina >6 All $25 

Tennessee >16 Front $25 

>15 $50 (driver or passenger)

<7 (and >57') - <17 $200 (driver)

Utah All All $45 (2nd offense)

Virgin Islands All Front $25 to $250

Washington >8 or >4'9" All $124 

17-Aug All

>18 Front

Wisconsin >8 All $10 

All (18 + D.C., 2 Terr.)

Rear Secondary (4)

Front Seat Only (12 + VI)

Total 34 States + D.C., PR, 4 
Terr.

North Carolina >16 $25.50 + $135.50 in court costs ($10 + no court costs 
for rear seats)

Texas All

West Virginia $25 

New Jersey $46 (including court costs)

New York $50 

http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/mn.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ms.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nm.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nmi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nmi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ok.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/or.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/pr.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ri.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/sc.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/tn.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ut.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/vi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/wa.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/wi.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nc.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/tx.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/wv.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nj.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ny.html


State Who is Covered (Yrs.) In What Seat Maximum Fine 1st Offense

15-Aug All

>8 Front

Colorado >18 (primary for <18) Front $71 

$10 (drivers <18 pay $51.50,

including court costs)

Massachusetts >13 All $25 

8 - 15 (primary) All $50 

>16 Front $10 (driver and passenger)

Montana >6 All $20 

Nebraska >18 Front $25 

Nevada >6 All $25 

>18 Front $20 

<18 (primary) All $25 + 1 point on license

14-Aug All

>15 Front

>18 Front

8 - 17 ( primary) All

South Dakota >18 Front $25 

Vermont >18 (primary for <18) All $25 

All drivers; passengers >18

(primary for passengers 
<18 in all seats)

Wyoming >9 All $25 driver; $10 passenger

All (6)
Front Seat Only (9)

Source: Governor's Highway Safety Association, http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/seatbelt_laws.html

Total States 15 States

States with Secondary Seat Belt Laws

Ohio $30 driver; $20 passenger

Pennsylvania $10 

Virginia Front $25 (driver ticketed for passengers <18)

Arizona $10 

Idaho >7 (primary for drivers <18) All

Missouri

North Dakota

http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/co.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ma.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/mt.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ne.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nv.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/sd.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/vt.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/wy.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/oh.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/pa.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/va.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/az.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/id.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/mo.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/nd.html
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