

State-Tribal Relations Committee

62nd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS SHANNON AUGARE TAYLOR BROWN CARMINE MOWBRAY SHARON STEWART-PEREGOY HOUSE MEMBERS GORDON HENDRICK CAROLYN PEASE-LOPEZ JOE READ FRANK SMITH COMMITTEE STAFF CASEY BARRS, Lead Staff DANIEL WHYTE, Staff Attorney CLAUDIA (CJ) JOHNSON, Secretary

Meeting of the State-Tribal Relations Interim Committee

Room 137, State Capitol Building, Helena Tuesday, June 28, 2011

8:45	Call to order and Roll call Acting Chairperson Sharon Stewart-Peregoy
8:45	Welcome and Introductions Acting Chairperson Sharon Stewart-Peregoy
9:00	Opening Blessing Helena Indian Alliance
9:15	Election of Officers \sqrt{Mr} . Casey Barrs, Legislative Researcher, Legislative Services Division $\sqrt{Acting Chairperson}$ and committee members
9:30	Responsibilities and Guidelines Casey Barrs √ Staff duties √ Committee statutory duties √ Legislative Council guidelines for interim committees √ Compensation and travel √ Recap of 2009 state-tribal related legislation
10:00	Office of Indian Affairs work in Indian Country $$ Ms. Lesa Evers, Acting Director, Office of Indian Affairs
10:30	Health, Human Services, and Indian Country √ Ms. Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director, Department of Public Health and Human Services
11:15	Break
11:30	State-Tribal Economic Development √ Mr. Jason Smith, Program Manager, State Tribal Economic Development Program, Montana Department of Commerce

12:00	Public Comment
12:15	Lunch
1:15	Law Enforcement and Indian Country √ Mr. Jim Smith, Co-Executive Director, Montana Sheriffs and Police Officers Association
2:00	Education and Indian Country √ Ms. Mandy Smoker-Broaddus, School Transformation Director, Office of Public Instruction
2:45	Public Comment
3:00	 Interim Work Plan √ Committee budget, travel, calendar, and targeted issues, Casey Barrs √ Committee work plan, Chairperson and members Action Items: Select priority issues Confirm calendar (dates and reservation visits)
4:00	Wrap Up Chairperson Confirm issues for next meeting Instructions to staff
4:05	Adjourn

For more information contact Mr. Casey Barrs at (406) 444-3957 or cbarrs@mt.gov

Cl0206 1178cbxa.