State-Tribal Relations

5-5-229, MCA provides:

The mandate of the State-Tribal Relations Committee is to act as a liaison with tribal governments; encourage state-tribal and local government-tribal cooperation; conduct interim studies; and report its activities, findings, recommendations, and proposals for legislation to the upcoming Legislature.

Membership

The eight member committee is chosen by the Speaker of the House (four members) and the Committee on Committees (four members).

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

House Members

Rep. Norma Bixby (D)

PO Box 1165 Lame Deer, MT 59043

Wk: 477-6602, Hm: 757-2433

Rep. Ken Peterson (R)

424 48th St. West Billings, MT 59106

Wk: 252-6679, Hm: 656-8297

kenpete@mcn.net

Rep. Carol Juneau (D)

128 9th Ave. SE Browning, MT 59417

Ph: 338-5689

repjuneau@aol.com

Rep. Rick Ripley (R)

8920 MT Highway 200 Wolf Creek, MT 59648

Ph: 562-3502

ripleys@3rivers.net

Senate Members

Sen. Ed Butcher (R)

PO Box 89

Winifred, MT 59489

Wk: 462-5615, Hm: 462-5627

senatorbutcher@aftco.com

Sen. Chris Christiaens (D)

PO Box 2871

Great Falls, MT 59403

Wk: 727-0382, Hm: 452-0032

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 33 Sen. Jerry O'Neil (R)

PO Box 2058 Kalispell MT 59903 Ph: 752-8903

oneil@in-tch.com

Sen. Gerald Pease (D)

PO Box 566 Lodge Grass MT 59050

Ph: 639-2242

Assigned Studies

None

Staff

Connie Erickson, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division

Eddye McClure, Attorney, Legislative Services Division

Legislative Secretary, Legislative Services Division