## March 2, 2018

Environmental Quality Council Hope Stockwell, Research Analyst

## MONTANA WATERCRAFT FEE SCENARIOS

The fees listed below and the revenues they generate are calculated on an annual basis.



State	Total AIS Budget	Watercraft Fee Revenue	Watercraft Fee as % of Total Budget	Resident Motorized	Nonresident Motorized	Resident Nonmotorized	Nonresident Nonmotorized	Total MT Revenue
Montana	\$6.29 million			69,370 to 124,311*	6,438	33,844 – 72,201**	11,012	
California	\$5.98 million	\$2.8 million	47%	\$8 = \$554,960 to \$994,488	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$554,960 to \$994,488
Colorado†	\$4 million	\$2.4 million (estimated)	60%	\$25 = \$1.73 mill to \$3.11 mill	\$50 = \$321,900	N/A	N/A	\$2.05 mill to \$3.43 mill
Idaho±	\$5.4 million	\$1.2 million	22%	\$10 = \$693,700 to \$1.24 mill	\$30 = \$193,140	\$7 = \$236,908 to \$505,407	\$7 = \$77,084	\$1.2 mill to \$2.02 mill
Nevada	\$600,000 to \$750,000	\$210,000 to \$262,500	35%	\$12 = \$832,440 to \$1.49 mill	\$12 = \$77,256	\$5 = \$169,220 to \$361,005	\$5 = \$55,060	\$1.13 mill to \$1.98 mill
Oregon	\$810,000	\$750,000 to \$846,000	~97%	\$2.50 = \$173,425 to \$310,777	\$20 = \$128,760	\$5 = \$169,220 to \$361,005	\$5 = \$55,060	\$526,465 to \$855,602
Washington‡	\$1.2 million	~\$1.15 million	~96%	\$2 = \$138,740 to \$248,622	\$20 = \$128,760	N/A	N/A	\$267,500 to \$377,382
Wyoming	\$1.35 million	~\$650,000	~48%	\$10 = \$693,700 to \$1.24 mill	\$30 = \$193,140	\$5 = \$169,220 to \$361,005	\$15 = \$165,180	\$1.2 mill to \$1.99 mill
Utah	\$2.867 million	~\$650,000	~23%	\$10 = \$693,700 to \$1.24 mill	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$693,700 to \$1.24 mill

<sup>\*</sup>The low end of range reflects motorized boats with 3-year registration decals as of 2/28/17. The high end reflects all boats permanently registered in MT as of Calendar Year 2016.

†These figures reflect a proposal currently under consideration by the Colorado Legislature.

‡Washington's \$20 fee for nonresident motorized watercraft also applies to commercial vessels, seaplanes, and commercial transporters of vessels.

± Idaho had 84,000 resident motorized boats in 2017. They sold 12,000 nonresident motorized decals and 62,000 total nonmotorized decals.

## Policy considerations:

- Which watercraft?
- If nonmotorized, of a certain length? Only those that contain water?

- Is there a physical sticker/decal?
- Is electronic proof allowed?
- Is a sticker/decal/electronic proof transferable?

• If fee on resident motorized boats is assessed at registration validation, which is required every 3 years, how or do you catch up the 3-year lag?

<sup>\*\*</sup>The low end of the range reflects the number of resident nonmotorized watercraft inspected at Montana AIS check stations in 2017. The high end is an estimated projection of the total number of resident nonmotorized watercraft using the ratio of resident motorized watercraft inspected in 2017 compared to the total number of resident motorized watercraft that have 3-year registration decals.