
STATE COMPARISON

BUREAU OF WEIGHTS MEASURES

Meter Fees Testing
STATE GOVERNING AGENCY LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE TESTING

IDAHO Department of Agriculture Set in Rule‐Annual Fee

Motor Fuel Device ‐ 20 gpm ‐ $6.

Petroleum Meter 30‐150‐ gpm ‐ $33.

Petroleum Meter 150+ gpm ‐ $40.

LPG Dispenser ‐ $40.

Code: Broad powers to the Director to enact 

rules for testing & frequency.

RULE:  "May test as requested by owner or user.  

Costs actual travel & testing costs".

MONTANA Department of Labor  Set in Rule‐Annual Fee

Motor Fuel Device ‐ 20 gpm ‐ $21. Prop. $27.

Petroleum Meter 20‐150‐ gpm ‐ $70. Prop. $88.

Petroleum Meter 150+ gpm ‐ $83. Prop. $104

LPG Dispenser ‐ $102.  Prop. $128

Code: Broad powers to Department to enact 

rules for testing & fees.

30‐12‐205 ‐ "May test" ‐ "The Department within 

a 12‐month period or less frequently if in 

accordance with a schedule issued by it shall 

test."

NORTH DAKOTA Public Service Commission No license fees. Code:  Commission shall determine frequency of 

testing which may not exceed 24 months.

  Rule: "Owner of any commercial weighing or 

measuring device is responsible for its accuracy 

and must have it tested once every 15 months."

 May use Commission or a registered service 

person."

SOUTH DAKOTA Department of Public Safety Set in Statute

Pumps ‐ $14.

Truck Meter ‐ $46.

LP Meter ‐ $68.

Bulk LP Meter ‐ $94.

Code: "Devices to be tested every 2 years."

UTAH Department of Agriculture Set in Rule‐Annual Fee

(Based on number of dispensers or meters at the 

establishment.)

1‐12 fuel dispensers & 1 meter ‐ $30.

13‐24 fuel dispensers & 2‐3 meters ‐ $90.

25‐36 fuel dispensers & 4‐6 meters ‐ $150.

37 or more fuel dispensers & 7 or more meters ‐ 

$290

Code: Broad powers to Department to enact 

rules for inspection & testing.

Rule: No specific testing schedule ‐ by complaint.

WASHINGTON Department of Agriculture Set in Statute‐Annual Fee

Motor Fuel ‐ 20 gpm ‐ $10.

Petroleum Meter ‐ 20‐150 gpm ‐ $32.

Petroleum Meter ‐ 150 gpm+ ‐ $50.

LPG Meters small ‐ $25.

LPG Meters ‐ large ‐ $50.

Code:  "Shall test in each biennium a sufficient 

number of devices to ensure public safety"

Rule: None in effect.

WYOMING Department of Agriculture Set in Rule‐Annual Fee

(Based on number of dispensers or meters at the 

establishment.)

1 to 5 meters ‐ $25.

5‐11 memters ‐ $50.

11 or more meters ‐ $75.

Code: Broad powers to director to enact rules.

Rule: Truck meters, LPG meters & Bulk Meters 

tested annually.

Gas pumps tested every three years.

NOTE: States that offer optional testing by the 

Bureau have published rates to determine costs.  

NOTE: Certain States receive General Fund 

monies to operate their programs.  That 

information is not compiled here. 

NOTE: Information compiled concentrates on border states or states within marketing region.

Basic Information for other States in the West:

Arizona ‐ Annual fees,  aprox. half of what is charged in MT,  random testing.

California ‐ Testing done on local level ‐ fees assessed by local government ‐ all varies.

Colorado ‐ No license fees, random testing, paid for out of the Petroleum Tank Fund.

Nevada ‐ Annual fees, higher than MT, annual testing. New Mexico ‐ No license fees, annual testing 

done by Bureau.

Oregon ‐ Annual fees, higher than MT, annual testing.


